Cold War Culture in the United States: HIST 2219/2900

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 contains substantial collections of original archival material (manuscript, typescript and ephemera) covering popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975.

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.

Access to newly added titles is guaranteed through May 2027
ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains many US and international newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries, including the New York Times, Philadelphia Inquirer, and Washington Post.

Socialism on Film is sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI), and documents the communist world from the Russian Revolution to the end of the Cold War. Temple U access includes two of the three available modules: Wars & Revolutions, and Newsreels & Cinemagazines.

The Nixon Years provides complete Foreign & Commonwealth Office (FCO 7 and FCO 82) files from The National Archives for the entire period of Richard Nixon's presidency. These offer an opportunity to assess, from a British, European and Commonwealth perspective, Nixon’s handling of numerous Cold War crises, his administration’s notable achievements, and his increasingly controversial activities and unorthodox use of executive powers.

Concurrent user limit: 2
U.S. Declassified Documents Online is a full-text database that provides declassified documents from the World War II, through the 1970s. It covers the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, and others.

Access to Volume III guaranteed through May 2027
Women's Magazine Archive offers backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines from the late-19th century through to 2005, examining the events, trends, and attitudes of this period.