Almanac of World War I by
World War I was the first modern war fought on a gigantic scale -- a stark, overwhelming, catastrophic series of events that killed millions, shattered nations, destroyed the old world order, and set much of the world's agenda for the twentieth century. The Almanac of World War I provides a day-by-day account of the action on all fronts and of the events surrounding the conflict, from the guns of August 1914 to the 1918 Armistice and its aftermath. Daily entries, topical descriptions, biographical sketches, maps, and illustrations combine to give a ready and succinct account of what was happening in each of the principal theaters of war.
Encyclopedia of Historical Treaties and Alliances by
Treaties and alliances govern relations among states and have exerted tremendous influence on historical events through the ages. But it can be difficult to find concise and accurate summaries of the terms of specific treaties and their effect on signatories. Encyclopedia of Historical Treaties and Alliances provides this information - together with extensive excerpts from the treaties themselves for more than 400 international agreements - in an elegantly accessible format
The Encyclopedia of World War I by
Featuring a wealth of new information and the work of acclaimed scholars from around the world, this monumental resource is the new standard reference on the 20th centurys most influential conflict.
The European Powers in the First World War by
This volume presents information on the non-U.S. aspects of the conflict. The editor assembled 94 contributors who crafted more than 600 entries that cover such subjects as major battles, terms of peace, weapons systems, military medicine, and infantry tactics. Articles include Revolution in Hungary; Isonzo, Battles of; Gallipoli Campaign; and Poison Gas. Entries treat literature that grew out of the war, such as All Quiet on the Western Front, and films and music about the war. The 350 biographies cover such people as T. E. Lawrence ("Lawrence of Arabia" ), Churchill, and Trotsky.
The Palgrave Concise Historical Atlas of the First World War by
The profound influence of World War I on politics and society is still felt today, yet it remains a greatly misunderstood conflict, shrouded in myths and misperceptions. In The Palgrave Concise Historical Atlas of the First World War Philpott and Hughes, leading historians of the conflict, draw on recent scholarship to present a clear introduction to the war. In fifty maps, accompanied by supporting text and statistical tables, they survey the main battles and political features of the war. This concise volume will give students and general readers important insights into the nature and effects of world war.
World War I Memories by
This comprehensive annotated bibliography includes over 1,400 references to memoirs, diaries, and letters by soldiers and civilians from all belligerent nations during World War I. Key features include: Incisive commentary on each entry's value to historians, enthusiasts, and collectors Organization by country Introduction provides a reader's guide to the best World War I literature Indexes by title and subject allow searching by units, fronts, personal perspectives, and battles
The United States in the First World War by
The entry of the United States into World War I in 1917 was the deciding factor in the Allies' victory of the following year. Venzon (editor of General Smedly Darlington Butler, Greenwood, 1992) and a panel of some 200 contributors, mostly American academics, have collaborated on this third volume of Garland's "Military History of the United States" series. Their work chronicles the military and civil involvement of the United States in this "war to end all wars." Biography, economics, civil rights, women's issues, foreign relations, battles, armaments, and conferences are among the topics included.
