Research Guides: Journalism Law and Ethics: JRN 3101: Find Articles

Why Use Journal Articles?

Journal articles -- also known as "scholarly articles," "peer-reviewed articles," or "academic articles" -- are sources that are written and reviewed by scholars; this means the information is approved by other experts before publication.

When and Why You Should Use Journal Articles:

You need information that is based on research and expertise
You need in-depth analysis of a topic or a single case study explored in-depth
You need recent scholarly conversations about a topic
You need suggestions for additional sources (tip: look in the bibliography)
You need sources that are peer-reviewed

Remember: Journal articles can sometimes feel dense or intense. Look for visual cues (headings, sections, bullets, charts/graphs) within articles to help guide you to relevant information. Need help? Check out this Anatomy of a Scholarly Article tutorial.

Try a Subject-Specific Library Database

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journal articles (plus industry articles) focused on journalism, television, radio, newspaper publishing, advertising, broadcasting, communication theory, and much more.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is an online product with pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline provides coverage from law and law-related periodicals. It also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context contains pages and full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals. Focuses on issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming.