Research Guides: Immigration and the American Dream: ANTH 0831: Peer Reviewed / Scholarly Journal Articles

Ethnic Related Databases

African American Experience This link opens in a new window
The African American Experience (AAE) provides full-text reference works from Greenwood Publishing. (AAE) includes interviews with former slaves from the WPA Slave Narratives Project. Documents, audio clips, photographs, from Negro University Press titles are also included.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Note: This is an upgrade from America: History & Life.
America: History & Life with Full Text contains bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada It includes historical, social sciences and humanities journals. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes citations of books and media reviews from a selection of journals in US and Canadian history and related fields, as well as citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas.
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 12
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index(HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Periodicals Index provides bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since 1970. The coverage includes political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes journals in the social and humanities sciences, covering 1953-present.
RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
RAMBI is a Selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel--mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library.

General Databases

eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures is a collection of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world. It also provides information on ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, their beliefs and superstitions, or subjects such as political structure, architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns.
GenderWatch
Concurrent user limit: 12
GenderWatch is a database of diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. It contains archival material, dating back to 1970. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
ProQuest Political Science
Proquest Political Science contains full text journals in political science and related fields.
ProQuest Sociology
Proquest Sociology contains full text of journals in sociology and related fields.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts provides coverage of the world's literature on sociology and applied aspects of sociology.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Social Science Premium Collection contains international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides page images of ebooks, ebook chapters, and back issues of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to current publication. It also offers millions of high-quality ArtStor images, curated from leading museums and archives around the world.
Library Search This link opens in a new window
Library Search is your gateway to discover books, journal articles, and much more at Temple University Libraries. Additional information can be found in our Library Search FAQ's.