Skip to main content

Emergent Media Production / Cybermedia Workshop: MSP 4741 / 8741

Research help for the cross-listed course, MSP 4741 / 8741: Emergent Media Production / Cybermedia Workshop

Why Use Journal Articles?

Note taking and highlighting journal articles by Raul Pacheco-Vega (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0) https://flic.kr/p/ywhfPTJournal articles -- also known as "scholarly articles," "peer-reviewed articles," or "academic articles" -- are sources that are written and reviewed by scholars; this means the information is approved by other experts before publication.

When and Why You Should Use Journal Articles:

  • You need information that is based on research and expertise
  • You need in-depth analysis of a topic or a single case study explored in-depth
  • You need recent scholarly conversations about a topic
  • You need suggestions for additional sources (tip: look in the bibliography)
  • You need sources that are peer-reviewed

Remember: Journal articles can sometimes feel dense or intense. Look for visual cues (headings, sections, bullets, charts/graphs) within articles to help guide you to relevant information. Need help? Check out this Anatomy of a Scholarly Article tutorial.

Use Library Search

Library Search is your gateway to discover books, journal articles, and much more at Temple University Libraries. Additional information can be found in our Library Search FAQ's.

Find Scholarly Articles in Subject-focused Databases

The items listed below are subject-specific databases, meaning they contain sources focused on one discipline -- unlike the Library Search which contains many. For some researchers, searching in a subject-specific database is more efficient and less overwhelming than searching in the Library Search. You decide your preference.

Find the Full-Text

Can't Locate Your Article Online?

  • Use theOnline button in Library Searchlink found in the Library Search or the Find Full Textbutton available from most other databases to locate the entire article online.
  • If your article is not available in print or via another research database, request it via ILLiad (interlibrary loan).

Search Strategies

  1. lightbulbUse search terms/keywords that relate to the broader type of technology instead of the specific name of the technology if you are unable to find any sources or not enough. Keywords examples include:
    1. virtual reality
    2. augmented reality
    3. immersive media
    4. convergent media
    5. digital storytelling
    6. location based technologies
       
  2. Incorporate search terms/keywords that consider broader benefits/impacts/influences/concerns. Keywords examples include:
    1. ethics or morals
    2. psychological aspects
    3. perception
    4. telepresence
    5. sound or audio
    6. health
    7. gender
    8. race
    9. ethnicity
    10. identity
    11. urban or rural
    12. journalism
    13. business
    14. sustainability
       
  3. Review any subject terms/phrases that might be tagged to an article of interest for future keyword suggestions.
     
  4. Review the language used in the abstract of an article of interest for future keyword suggestions.
     
  5. Review the bibliographies of sources you know you intend to use. The sources listed in those bibliographies may be about similar topics and, thus, equally relevant for you. If you see a title of interest, search that title in Summon to determine if we have access to it.