GOV & NGO Sources - Business Research Guide - Fox School of Business

U.S. Government Resources

data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
data.census.gov provides data from the U.S. Census Bureau including the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more.

The American Time Use Survey
The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) from BLS, provides nationally representative estimates of how, where, and with whom Americans spend their time, and is the only federal survey providing data on the full range of non-market activities, from childcare to volunteering. ATUS data files can be linked to data files from the Current Population Survey (CPS).
Gov Publishing Office
FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publications and securely controls digital content throughout its lifecycle to ensure content integrity and authenticity.
Industries at a Glance
Access a ‘snapshot’ of industries using national data obtained from different BLS surveys and programs. Many programs also produce additional industry detail, including state, county, and metropolitan area data. The data shown are based on the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) supersector, sector, and industry level.
Industry Snapshots, Economic Census
The Industry Snapshots present key statistics from the Economic Census and per capita ratios using data from Population Estimates for a user-selected industry. To choose the industry you are interested in: enter the 2012 North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code or keyword into the NAICS SEARCH box or choose the industry from the SELECT AN INDUSTRY menu to the left.
Tax Information for Charities & Other Non-Profits
Exempt Organizations (EO) administers tax law governing charities, private foundations and other entities exempt from federal income tax.

Non-Governmental Organization Sources

Charity Navigator
Founded in 2001, Charity Navigator has become the nation's largest and most-utilized evaluator of charities. In our quest to help donors, our team of professional analysts has examined tens of thousands of non-profit financial documents. We've used this knowledge to develop an unbiased, objective, numbers-based rating system to assess over 9,000 of America's best-known and some lesser known, but worthy, charities.

Foundation Directory Online (FDO) This link opens in a new window
Note: Due to budget constraints, FDO will no longer be available after 6/30/24. Additional grant and funding resources can be found through Temple Libraries or the Free Library of Philadelphia.
Foundation Directory Online (FDO) provides access to information on grantmakers and their grants. Included in the database are foundations, corporate giving programs, and grant making public charities in the U.S.

GuideStar
GuideStar gathers and disseminates information about every single IRS-registered nonprofit organization. They provide as much information as possible about each nonprofit's mission, legitimacy, impact, reputation, finances, programs, transparency, governance, and more.

International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data This link opens in a new window
Note: The linked IMF Data is available to the public. Temple does not currently subscribe to any IMF products.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data provides a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates, and other economic and financial indicators including International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payment Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and Direction of Trade Statistics. Includes the IMF Data Mapper web mapping tool.

National Center for Charitable Statistics
The data produced by NCCS are intended for use by researchers and policy-makers in their quantitative analyses, and as a springboard for more in-depth survey or case study research.
National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities
The National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities (NTEE) system is used by the IRS and NCCS to classify nonprofit organizations.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) provides public access to statistical data, books, journals and working papers on subjects such as: Agriculture and Food, Development, Education, Energy, Environment, Finance and Investment, Social Issues, Transport and more. The Statistics channel delivers access to the OECD's statistical databases allowing users real-time access to the latest data. (Updated daily)
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new window
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.

Databases with U.S. Government Data Sources

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Proquest Congressional provides access to the full text of congressional working papers and legislation, a wide variety of information about Congress, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, financial data, and the full text of the Congressional Record.
ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Legislative Insight is a Federal history service that includes compilations of full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. Documents may include: bills, reports, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, Presidential Signing Statements, and Statutes. For documents that are not part of a legislative history, please use ProQuest Congressional.

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu