Research Guides: History: Find Articles

Core History Databases

The following TULibraries' databases cover the most important peer-reviewed journal and other secondary literature of history. If you already have a particular journal title in mind and need to find out if TULibraries subscribes, search Journal Finder.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Best database for secondary source articles in American history.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Best database for secondary source articles in world history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides page images of ebooks, ebook chapters, and back issues of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to current publication.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Project Muse provides access to full-text journals, ebooks, and ebook chapters from university presses. Temple does not have access to all available ebooks.

Additional Secondary Sources History Databases

Further secondary source databases for a more comprehensive search.

Black Studies Center (BSC) This link opens in a new window
The Black Studies Center contains scholarly essays, periodicals, historical newspaper articles and reference books on Black Studies. It combines resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Black Studies Periodicals Database (formerly IIBP), Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index for articles published in periodicals that cover the humanities and social sciences. With coverage going back over 300 years, every article in each journal covered is indexed.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online includes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 [via EbscoHost] This link opens in a new window
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 [via EbscoHost] contains a range of journals in the humanities and social sciences from 1907 to 1984.

Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History (1838-1974)
The only offline source in this list, the Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History covers the historical literature published between 1838 and 1974 in an 11-volume.