Use dictionaries and encyclopedias to
1. get an overview of your topic
2. define terms
3. identify key words and concepts relating to your research topic
All reference books listed below are available online. Hover over the item title to get a description of the contents. Click the item title to access the book.
Access to full text is limited to Temple University faculty, students, and staff. If you are off campus, you must prove you are affiliated with TU by entering your AccessNet ID and password.
Annual Review of Anthropology. Palo Alto, Calif., Annual Reviews Inc.
Also available from (Temple Only): JSTOR (Includes the Biennial Review of Anthropology also) and EBSCO
The Dictionary of Anthropology by 
21st Century Anthropology by
The SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on Anthropology will highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of anthropology ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century. The purpose is to provide undergraduate students with an authoritative reference source that will serve their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not so much jargon, detail or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter.
Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology by 
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology by 
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology by 
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics by 
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by 
Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics by 
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences by 
Encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology by 
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures by 
Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology by 
Concise Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology by 
Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology by 
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Darwin and Evolutionary Thought by 
A Companion to Biological Anthropology by 
The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution by Use any of the three databases below to search hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks all at the same time!
