Research Guides: Anthropology: Articles / Databases

Primary Databases for Anthropology

Select a database to retrieve citations to journal articles, especially peer-reviewed articles. Journal Finder can be used to determine whether articles are available online in a fulltext database. Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain copies of articles from other libraries which are not available at any Temple University Library.

Anthropological Fieldwork Online This link opens in a new window
Access guaranteed through May 2027
Anthropological Fieldwork Online is focused around each scholar’s prominent expedition field experience, with comprehensive inclusion of fieldwork, documents from the same time period, including correspondence, and subsequent writings that led to publications, such as draft manuscripts, lectures, and articles.
Anthropology Online This link opens in a new window
Access guaranteed through May 2027
Anthropology Online brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over.
Anthropology Plus [via EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 5
Anthropology Plus [via EbscoHost] contains Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature into a single database. Anthropological Index covers scholarly literature. Anthropological Literature provides articles and essays.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource provides full-text of journals from the American Anthropological Association.

Cultural Atlas / Profiles
The Cultural Atlas is a collaborative project between SBS, International Education Services (IES), and Multicultural NSW. Created in 2016 as a supplementary resource to the Cultural Competence Program (CCP), it aims to inform and educate the public in cross-cultural attitudes, practices, norms, behaviours and communications.

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures is a collection of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world. It also provides information on ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, their beliefs and superstitions, or subjects such as political structure, architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online This link opens in a new window
Access guaranteed through May 2027
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online brings together 2,000 hours of audio recordings from field expeditions around the world, particularly from the 1960s through the 1980s—the dawn of ethnomusicology as a codified discipline.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Video Online is an online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. It contains streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts LLBA provides access to abstracts and indexes for international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Coverage begins in 1973.

Open Research Scan Archive (ORSA)
The Open Research Scan Archive (formerly: Penn Cranial CT Database) contains high resolution (sub-millimeter) scans of human and non-human crania from the Penn University Museum and other institutions.
Proquest Linguistics Database
This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Database covering the fields of medicine, including Physical and Biological Anthropology.

Multidisciplinary Databases (with significant anthropological content)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts contains journals from various countries focusing on health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Note: Follow these instructions to link Google Scholar with Temple's resources.
Google Scholar provides search for scholarly literature. It covers disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides page images of ebooks, ebook chapters, and back issues of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to current publication. It also offers millions of high-quality ArtStor images, curated from leading museums and archives around the world.
Library Search This link opens in a new window
Library Search is your gateway to discover books, journal articles, and much more at Temple University Libraries. Additional information can be found in our Library Search FAQ's.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Citation Index is a database which contains searchable author abstracts covering the journal literature of the social sciences.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Wiley Online Library provides full-text access to current journals and ebooks published by Wiley-Blackwell (including Blackwell Reference, Encyclopedia of Literature, and Blackwell Compass titles). The great majority of journals are available to the Temple community online.

Get Research Help

Tom Ipri

Contact:

tom.ipri@temple.edu
Charles Library, Rm 375

Subjects: Anthropology

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu