Research Guides: Ethnicity and the Immigrant Experience in the US: SOC / GUS 0835: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, etc.

A list of recommended reference books.

General

Hover over item title for more information

Encyclopedia of American Studies This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of American Studies provides information on history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present.

Encyclopedia of Diasporas by Carol R. Ember (Editor); Melvin Ember (Editor); Ian A. Skoggard (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0306483211
Publication Date: 2004-11-30
Ethnic Groups of the World by James B. Minahan
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781610691642
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Immigrants in American History by Elliott Robert Barkan (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781598842203
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
This encyclopedia is a unique collection of entries covering the arrival, adaptation, and integration of immigrants into American culture from the 1500s to 2010. * Recent immigration and naturalization data from the 2010 U.S. Census * Excerpts from American laws and customs * A chronology of migration to the United States between 1500 to 2010
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Gale Editors (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0787675504
Publication Date: 2014-04-11

African Americans

Asian Americans

Asian American Society An Encyclopedia by Mary Yu Danico (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1452281904
Publication Date: 2014-09-05
Asian Databook by David Garoogian (General Editor)
Call Number: E184 .A75 2005
ISBN: 1592370446
Publication Date: 2004-09-04

Hispanic-Americans

Native Americans

POWER SEARCHING

Use any of the three databases below to search hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks all at the same time!

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library [GVRL]) is a database of encyclopedias and reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if the database is accessed from different libraries.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Sage Knowledge provides full-text of major reference works published by Sage Publications, including Sage Books, Sage Reference, CQ Press reference resources, and Sage Navigator social sciences literature review tool.

Immigration Statistics