Research Guides: Sustainability: Find articles

Resources for information overview

These resources will give you background information on your topic.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Noted for its in-depth, unbiased reports covering health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

AccessScience (Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online)
The full-text of the latest editions of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms. Material is supplemented by biographies, bibliographies, web sites, learning resources, study guides and images.

Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis eBooks offer full text content over a wide range of academic disciplines including science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science.

Databases for current articles

These databases will search for current articles on your topic from many different sources of information including newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, book chapters, proceedings, etc.

Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context (formerly GREENR) covers environmental issues such as health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, and primary source documents. [GREENER]
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete contains full text journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Some of the titles included are Harvard Business Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, etc.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE contains researched and accessible information on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
YouTube tutorials
PAIS covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
Sustainability Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sustainability Science Abstracts database covers all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Compendex contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings. It also includes Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969).

Other databases

The Temple University Libraries provide access to hundreds of databases via Database Finder. Some of these might be useful for your particular topic.

Please also check other Subject Guides that cover your topic area more specifically to determine appropriate databases to use.

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu