Skip to Main Content

Mass Media and the Black Community: AAAS 2251

An examination of the role media plays in the African American community. Ownership, access, and image making, are a few of the topics discussed. The goal of the resources within this guide is to develop an appreciation and an awareness of the roles of me

New Books at Temple Libraries

Library Search: Books

Find books in the Temple University collection using Library Search.

Make a Book Purchase Request

Use this online form to Request a book purchase to add to the collection.

eBooks & Books

Click title for full-text online access.

Searching for Books

Book Locations

Books that you find for your topic may be located in a variety of places.  Below is a list of possible locations.

  • CHARLES STACKS

This is where most of the books are kept (EITHER in the BookBot or the 4th floor stacks. Use the online Library Search to Request books or go to the fourth floor to find it using the call number.

  • BLOCKSON COLLECTION

This is a special collection devoted to African and African American history.  Find these materials on the 1st floor of Sullivan Hall.  These materials are in-house use only.

  • URBAN ARCHIVES

This is a special collection devoted to the history of Philadelphia.  Find these materials on the 1st floor of Charles.  These materials are in-house use only.

  • RARE BOOK COLLECTION

This is a special collection devoted to specialized editions and manuscripts.  Find these materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) Reading Room on the 1st floor of Charles.  These materials are in-house use only.

  • CONTEMPORARY CULTURE COLLECTION

This is a special collection devoted to alternative perspectives on contemporary culture.  Find these materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) Reading Room on the 1st floor of Charles.  These materials are in-house use only.

  • SCIENCE FICTION COLLECTION

This is a special collection devoted to science fiction and fantasy literature.  Find these materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) Reading Room on the 1st floor of Charles.  These materials are in-house use only.

  • LIBRARY DEPOSITORY

This is the library's storage facility for older, more fragile books.  Use the "Request" button to request these books and have them  brought to Charles in 24 hours.  Check out these books as usual.

 

Not sure where to go?  Visit the One Stop desk for assistance on the Library's 1st floor.