Tourism and Hospitality

One of the leading texts in the field, Tourism Management is the ideal introduction to the fundamentals of tourism as you study for a degree, diploma or single module in the subject. It traces the evolution and future development of tourism and the challenges facing tourism managers in this fast growing sector of the world economy.

This book documents, analyses and offers insight into the latest research in the area. Includes analysis of products, trends, climate change, risk management and environmental management and many others. The Sub-sectors section within the book offers an overview of the twenty or more definable sectors within the adventure tourism industry considering their origins and history, latest trends and demographic groups.

Tourism Management provides an in-depth coverage of sense making, planning, implementing, evaluating and administering tourism marketing and management programmes. Recent advances in tourism theory and research on causal history and ecological systems are used to discuss how leisure and tourism occurs. This book offers useful descriptions, tools, and examples of tourism management decision-making.

reference book

This book provides both practical advice with real-world application and a theoretical background to the field as a whole.

Introduction to Travel and Tourism Marketing provides an introduction to the marketing of travel strategy market segmentation, the business environment, marketing research as well as marketing planning.

Tourism Marketing: On Both Sides of the Counter is the fourth successful publication by the team that runs the bi-annual Advances in Tourism Marketing Conference The current volume contains a selection of the best papers presented at the conference in Maribor, Slovenia, in September 2011.

This book bridges the gap in contemporary literature by carefully examining the management and marketing of tourism experiences. It has the following specific objectives: first to analyse the main issues and challenges related to tourism experience management and marketing; second, to present and discuss adequate analytical frameworks and tools; third to explore the adoption and implementation of approaches to managing and marketing experiences in various tourism contexts and industries; and finally to present and discuss case studies illustrating approaches adopted, methods implemented and best practices in addressing related issues.

Tourism Marketing for Developing Countries examines media strategies used by destinations in Asia, the Middle East and Africa to battle stereotypes, negative images and crises in order to attract tourists .

This volume provides specific answers to hard questions about how to create valid metrics to measure the effectiveness of tourism advertising and the usefulness of destination marketing websites. An extensive literature review describes 40+ years of research on the effectiveness of tourism advertising and the slow advancement to using valid impact metrics field experiments with alternative ad treatment and placements. Several authors undertake information-usefulness audits on DMO (destination management office) websites and provide practical check lists.

Part 1 looks at the many changes in tourism since statehood (1959) and tourism's imprint on Hawai'i. Part 2 reviews the development of public policy toward tourism, beginning with a story of the planning process that started around 1970--a full decade before the first comprehensive State Tourism Plan was crafted and implemented.

This collection of studies seeks to advance feminist and gender tourism studies with its focus on embodiment. Broad themes include the construction of narratives, how discourses of desire, sensuality and sexuality pervade the tourism experience, the use of the body to represent femininity, masculinity and sensuality, and finally how travel and tourism allow for empowerment, resistance and carnivalesque opportunities.

This publication explores such elements, delving into the disciplines of sociology and psychology, along with the fields of destination marketing, community development and strategic planning.

The book is an edited collection of papers from the 3rd Symposium on Consumer Psychology of Tourism, Hospitality and Leisure, held in Melbourne, Australia in January 2003. Themes covered by the papers include attitudes, emotions and information processing; motivation and learning; consumption systems; decision and choice; experience and satisfaction; market segmentation; attraction and loyalty; and image and interpretation.

Photographs create visual narratives of experiences, places, peoples and objects that collectively and individually comprise the tourist gaze. Photography is acknowledged as having an important role in the determining of places and spaces, the construction and re-construction of identities, and the invention and re-invention of histories.

This book is a collection of essays that examines the social, political and cultural impact of tourism on Irish society. It deals with both the historical experience of Irish tourism and with the contemporary influence of tourism on different areas of Irish life and cultural self-representation.

A multidisciplinary international team examines the safety, ethics, and health implications of the emerging global market for health care, and the issues that arise when patients cross borders for medical procedures they cannot afford or access at home, from liposuction to kidney transplants.

Full of practical, proven techniques and step-by-step strategies, this informative resource teaches internet tourism businesses how to attract visitors and convert them into paying customers. With a design that allows each chapter to stand on its own, the book provides easy and immediate implementation for a variety of promotion strategies, including those geared for bed and breakfasts, campgrounds, and theme parks. By learning to utilize industry-specific internet newsgroups and mailing lists, businesses can target their customers, examine advertising techniques of their competitors, and ensure consistent visibility on the Web. Tips on updating, revisiting, and rethinking a business's online presence round out the advice, ensuring that potential and existing clients keep coming back.

Written from both entrepreneurial and operations management perspectives, the book provides a practical overview of the recreation, event, and tourism (RET) field and the business planning process. A new conceptual model of the RET industry is presented and related to existing models. It explains how the industry works and examines the key components of commercial RET businesses. It also describes how companies are started, operated, and managed, including information on service issues, risk management, finance, and marketing. It provides examples of how RET businesses can be operated in a more sustainable, environmentally friendly manner.

Drawing on recent theoretical developments this book explores the interplay between the production and consumption of tourist space. Focusing on a number of themes such as age, gender, religion and sexual orientation, chapters critically examine how patterns of consumption are negotiated on an individual level.

Drawing on recent theoretical developments this book explores the interplay between the production and consumption of tourist space. Focusing on a number of themes such as age, gender, religion and sexual orientation, chapters critically examine how patterns of consumption are negotiated on an individual level.

Containing original and previously unpublished theoretical and empirical studies, Consumer Behavior in Travel and Tourism will give professionals, professors, and researchers in the field up-to-date insight and information on trends, happenings, and findings in the international hospitality business arena. From this book, readers will understand and learn the needs and preferences of tourists and how to investigate the process of destination and product selection to help provide customers with products and services that will best meet their needs.

Developed from a symposium held in Hawaii in August 1998, this book focuses on the diverse subject of consumer psychology as applied to the fields of tourism, hospitality and leisure. It provides a general review of current thinking and presents several new theories and methods of analysis.

Christopher Law examines every aspect of the relationship between tourism and large cities, covering such issues as why tourists visit cities, why cities want tourists, how cities make tourism happen and how tourism impacts on cities and their inhabitants.

The book uses encounter theory to examine the customer - provider relationship as well as drawing on current research and theories from hospitality, tourism, management, psychology bodies of literature. In doing so the book offers important insight into how employee - centric competitive advantage in this sector can be achieved in various markets.

This book predicts new markets and products to help you tailor your business to the tourism and leisure trends of the next generation. The Tourism and Leisure Industry: Shaping the Future evaluates traditional leisure time activities, such as theme parks and sporting events as well as the fastest growing activities, such as leisure-based wellness resorts.

'Tourism and Hospitality in the 21st Century' is a collection of essays which consider the future of tourism and hospitality. Divided into three parts, this book analyses: · Global dimensions, patterns and trends -demographic, social, economic and technical · Regional development of such areas as Africa, Asia, Europe and America, among others · The future of various sectors within the industries - such as transport, tourist attractions, coastal resorts and timesharing.

t
The Atlas of Travel and Tourism Development is a new departure from conventional texts, providing a unique overview of the growth of the tourism industry.

This handbook provides comprehensive guidance on standards, requirements and procedures for a wide range of tourist and recreation facilities.The approach is practical and covers the interrelationships between physical planning and aspects such as marketing, financing and operation, current concerns about sustainability, and the need to monitor progress and correct adverse conditions.

Topics include the history of commercial recreation, definitions, economic applications, business start-up strategies, financing, marketing, operations management, and global trends. This edition also examines industry profiles for the travel, hospitality, and local commercial recreation industries.

This book recounts the enthralling history of the hotel in America?a saga in which politicians and prostitutes, tourists and tramps, conventioneers and confidence men, celebrities and salesmen all rub elbows. Hotel explores why the hotel was invented, how its architecture developed, and the many ways it influenced the course of United States history.

The Motel in America details the development of the motel as a commercial enterprise, its imaginative architectural expressions, and its evolution within the place-product-packaging concept along America's highways. As an integral part of America's landscape and culture, the motel finally receives the in-depth attention it deserves.

Ten Restaurants That Changed America reveals how the history of our restaurants reflects nothing less than the history of America itself. Whether charting the rise of our love affair with Chinese food through San Francisco's fabled The Mandarin, evoking the richness of Italian food through Mamma Leone's, or chronicling the rise and fall of French haute cuisine through Henri Soulé's Le Pavillon, food historian Paul Freedman uses each restaurant to tell a wider story of race and class, immigration and assimilation.

Grand Hotels is the fruit of the many years Elaine Denby has devoted to travels and visits throughout Europe, North America, the Near East and the Orient; it is a fascinating architectural and social history that covers the globe from the 1830s to the 1930s, but which also takes note of the most recent refurbishments.

A comprehensive textbook covering all aspects of running the front desk of a modern hotel. It emphasizes the technological aspects of running a hotel desk and features illustrations, assessment questions, learning objectives, and a case study that runs through the whole book.