Sport Management

Sports Business: Law, Practice and Precedents concentrates on the legal issues in the UK, which must be considered when structuring and negotiating these valuable deals.

Managing Sport Organizations is a newly updated and comprehensive introduction to the themes and elements surrounding sport management. The features of this book include: Important industry segment information is introduced chapter by chapter, allowing students to wed theory and application throughout Effectively weaves sport industry issues with fundamental management theories and practices Provides informative introductions to all fundamental aspects of sport management- Leadership, Information Technology, Media, Facility management, and HR.

Managing People in Sport Organizationsprovides a comprehensive overview of the theory and practice of managing people within a human resource management framework. It provides the reader with the skills to understand and work with people in sport organizations and, given the significant changes in sport organizations over the past twenty years, it addresses the issues of managing organizational complexity and how human resources adds value. Written by a team of expert authors it: Provides a systematic approach to managing people based on well established conceptual frameworks supported by substantial empirical research Analysis and explains how to understand and work with people in organisationally complex situations Outlines how HR can support organisational strategy, positively impact performance and deliver sustainable success Designs a strategic human resource management plan that is effective, sustainable and able to adapt to changing conditions. Covers the key research findings in the key area of HR in sport. With each chapter including learning objectives, key issues, international cases studies and supported by online PowerPoint slides Managing People in Sport Organizationsis the definitive text for this crucial area of sports management.

Managing Football is the first book to directly respond to the rapid managerial, commercial and global development of the sport and offers a thorough analysis of how the football industry can meet the challenges that flow from these developments. The cutting edge analysis examines all the important business challenges in the football industry and the management of football businesses and covers all of the key football markets including England, Spain, France, Italy, Germany, Australia, North America, China, South Africa, South Korea, the Netherlands & Belgium, and Mexico.

Sport Funding and Finance provides a complete introduction to the macro-level and micro-level aspects of sport finance. It describes the evolution of sport from a kitchen-table operation into the sophisticated, boardroom-driven global financial industry that it is today.

Chapters cover the development of the industry; the industry's structure and size; manufacturers' products and market shares; channels of distribution; sports medicine and product liability; sports marketing, including licensing, endorsement and sponsorship; the use of traditional media and market research; sales trends and profitability; and e-commerce.

Where existing sport marketing texts restate concepts learned at an introductory marketing level, this book goes beyond, by expanding the knowledge of the student with advanced marketing theory which is specifically related to the crucial areas in sport marketing.

Managing Sport Organizations is a newly updated and comprehensive introduction to the themes and elements surrounding sport management. The book teaches management theory and principles in a coherent manner, helping to reinforce these concepts for students in schools of business, and serving to introduce them to students in other school settings (kinesiology, exercise science, sport science).

Sneaker Wars is the fascinating true story of the enemy brothers behind Adidas and Puma, two of the biggest global brands of athletic footwear.

World Sports: A Reference Handbook covers a wide variety of sports-related controversies, including ethical, political, technological, business, and social issues related to the phenomenon of sports. Many of the larger topics are covered from multiple angles, often providing both a global and American perspective.

At the core of sports marketing is the creation and enhancement of fan identification, where consumers are not just loyal customers, but have become brand fanatics. Team Sports Marketing shows that while many aspects of sports marketing are thought to be unique to the field, other product and service sectors would do well to learn from teams in the NFL, NBA, MLB, and NHL that have transformed customers into fans. Moving beyond principles of marketing, Team Sports Marketing is packed with examples of best practices and covering subjects as diverse as sponsorships, season ticket sales, venue management and all topics in between.

Sports Marketing: A Strategic Perspective is the only introductory textbook to adopt a strategic approach, explaining clearly how every element of the marketing process should be designed and managed, from goal-setting and planning to implementation and control. Covering all the key topics in the sports marketing curriculum, including consumer behavior, market research, promotions, products, pricing, sponsorship, business ethics, technology and e-marketing, the book introduces core theory and concepts, explains best practice, and surveys the rapidly-changing, international sports business environment.

The book provides the reader with: the first book to apply the principles of relationship marketing specifically to a sports context case studies from around the world to provide a uniquely global approach applicable worldwide strong pedagogical features including learning outcomes, overviews, discussion questions, glossary, guided reading and web links practical advice for professional, semi-professional and non-professional sporting organisations a companion website providing web links, case studies and PowerPoint slides for lecturers.

This book presents sports marketing in a scholarly and comprehensive way, covering major topics of discussion in sports marketing and the psychology of communication. Many classic topics are brought up to date, including sponsorship, ambush marketing, identification, endorsements, basking in reflected glory, and licensing. Many of the topics that seem to center around sports show up as well, such as sneakers, ethics, risky behavior, and even investments.

This book deals with the professional development in the sense that sports marketing can be viewed as an application of consumer behavior research. Readers will learn about new opportunities in using consumer behavior knowledge effectively in the areas of: influencing behaviors in society and sports; building relationships with consumers through sports and events; and providing services to consumers through sport and event sponsorships.