Research Guides: Temple Law Library: Online Resources

Online Resources

AILALink
AILALink is a research database created and maintained by the American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA) providing fully searchable access to immigration-related statutes, regulations, and case law; agency correspondence and manuals; AILA/government liaison minutes; immigration forms; and other AILA publications. Access primary, secondary, and guidance resources essential to effective immigration law practice, including Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook, Business Immigration: Law and Practice, and AILA's Asylum Primer.
This resource is only accessible through the law school's on-campus network.
Aspen Learning Library (formerly, Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library)
Examples & Explanations, Glannon Guides, videos on fundamental legal concepts, and more can be found in the Aspen Learning Library, formerly known as the Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library. Read ebooks online or install an app and download materials for off-line study. Register a personal account to save notes, highlights, and bookmarks then log in directly at aspenlearninglibrary.com. Temple Law students, faculty, and staff can connect via this link or request access by sending a message to tulawlib@temple.edu.
CALI
CALI provides nearly 1,000 online lessons on a variety of law topics. CALI lessons are a great way to build fluency in points of law, making you more confident when it's exam time. Lessons are keyed to major casebooks, so it's easy to find the topics you're needing. You'll need a law school code to create an account; ask at the Law Library or email tulawlib@temple.edu.
Casetext
Casetext has nearly 100 years of federal cases; state case and statute coverage varies. Casetext supports cross-jurisdictional and advanced terms and connectors searching. Its SmartCite citator tool and key passage highlighting are driven by machine processing and artificial intelligence. Registering an account with Casetext is free while you're a law student.

Checkpoint This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 35
Checkpoint is available to Temple employees, faculty, and staff who require access in the performance of their teaching related duties and currently enrolled students who require access for educational purposes only. Use by staff in business offices is in violation of the license agreement.
Checkpoint provides tax and accounting practice resources, including individual and business tax planning guides, Federal Tax Coordinator, and Checkpoint Catalyst.
VitalLaw (formerly Cheetah) This link opens in a new window
Cheetah provides access to CCH resources in a broad range of topics including tax law, corporate law, and legal compliance. The library's subscriptions include the Practice of Law Library, the Litigation Library, the Almanac of the Federal Judiciary, Administrative Law, Folk on the Delaware General Corporation Law, and the Corporate Legal Compliance Handbook.
The Cheetah database is now called VitalLaw.
Climate Change and Law Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection of commentary and analysis in corporate, environmental, and human rights law includes documents from public and private organizations addressing climate change. The resources are curated by Human Rights Internet.

Docket Navigator
Docket Navigator contains patent litigation activity in U.S. district courts and the Court of Federal Claims, the U.S. International Trade Commission (ITC), and the Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB). See detailed content notes on the Docket Navigator Scope page. Save, manage, share, and set alerts for searches in binders. To learn more about the search, navigation, and analysis features, visit the Docket Navigator Training Center.
To register for a free account, send an email to contact@docketnavigator.com and provide your full name, Temple Law email address, and anticipated date of graduation (month/year). Let them know which of the libraries you need to access: Patent, Trademark, Copyright, and Antitrust.
Elgar Encyclopedias
Temple provides access to Elgar encyclopedias on Human Rights, International Economic Law, Law and Economics (second edition), Environmental Law, and Private International Law. Each encyclopedia article is written by a subject expert and provides an overview, insights, and a bibliography for further reading.
Global Arbitration Review
Global Arbitration Review (GAR) is a source for international arbitration news and community intelligence. GAR provides daily news and analysis, annual firm rankings, practice area guides, and other insight reports on international arbitration. Consult content in GAR to understand aspects of international dispute resolution, including new developments, special topics, enforcement, litigation, jurisdictional activity, and practical strategies.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
New resources in HeinOnline include ABA's Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases, Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S., Law in Eastern Europe, Manz's Congress and the Courts, Multinational Sources Compared, National Moot Court Competition, Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law publications, Religion and the Law, and the World Treaty Library.

Investment Arbitration Reporter (IAReporter)
Research in IAReporter's news, commentary, casefiles, treaties, and arbitrator profiles to learn about investor-state dispute settlements. Consult IAReporter's editorial analysis and up-to-date data to understand developing litigation and policy in foreign investment.
JustisOne
An index to UK cases and laws back to the 12th Century.

Law.com This link opens in a new window
Law.com provides legal news and analysis from across ALM's national and regional publications including the Legal Intelligencer (Philadelphia), American Lawyer, and the National Law Journal, with the opportunity to view news by practice area. For off-campus access, create and account using this self-registration form.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law This link opens in a new window
This Oxford encyclopedia provides analytic coverage of constitutional law topics in a comparative context. Written by scholar-experts, the encyclopedia articles--modeled on those in the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law--address topics covering the essence, character, development, and history of constitutional law from a global perspective.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Criminology and International Law This link opens in a new window
Note: Temple subscribes to two OBO subject bibliographies: Criminology and International Law. Find these under the Browse by Subject menu.
Oxford Bibliographies offer authoritative research guides combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, directing researchers to the best available scholarship.
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) This link opens in a new window
A set of e-books on environment and energy law has been added to this online collection.
Oxford Reports on International Law This link opens in a new window
The newly added Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law on the ORIL platform contains a collection of international law e-books.
PLI Plus This link opens in a new window
Note: PLI Plus allows downloading in discreet portions only. Please use the Bookshelf feature to save links to chapters and books for the most up-to-date material.
PLI Plus from the Practising Law Institute, a national provider of continuing legal education (CLE) programs, provides access to practice-oriented legal treatises, course handbooks, and answer books, in addition to legal forms and program transcripts.

PowerNotes
Access to PowerNotes ended December 31, 2023. As of December 31, data is read-only -- no changes can be made, but viewing and downloading will be available. To continue using PowerNotes, you must pay for an individual license to have full access to your account.
This browser extension lets you capture and annotate excerpts from PDFs and websites, including Lexis and Westlaw. Organize these excerpts in projects and download your research as a Word file. Sign up for this research organizing tool using your @temple.edu address.

ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
Access is guaranteed through May 2027
Legacy History Vault platform
ProQuest History Vault includes several subject modules: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; Women's Studies; Workers, Labor Unions, and Radicals; American Indians and the American West; American Politics and Society (from Kennedy to Watergate); International Relations and Military Conflicts; Latinx History; Revolutionary War and Early America.
ProQuest Supreme Court Insight This link opens in a new window
Supreme Court Insight Cert Denied is an online collection of U.S. Supreme Court case records in which the petition for writ of certiorari was denied. Case documents include dockets, petitions for writ of certiorari, and all petition stage briefs, including amicus briefs. Search by name or number to find a particular case. Use the advance search to retrieve cases and documents by justice, popular law name, subject, amicus name, or attorney. Temple Libraries subscribes to the Cert Denied for the 2019 and 2020 terms.
Queer Pasts This link opens in a new window
Queer Pasts is a collection of queer history and culture primary source exhibits that address LGBT topics as well as other sexual and gender formations that are queer. Particular focus is given to perspectives from people of color, trans people and people with disabilities.
Regulatory Insight This link opens in a new window
Regulatory Insight contains federal administrative law histories, including all notices, proposed rules and final rules associated with a Public Law, a part of the Code of Federal Regulations, a U.S. Code citation or an agency. It is a companion to Legislative Insight, which contains already-compiled legislative histories and the accompanying federal congressional materials.

Sheller Center for Social Justice Collection
Research reports, advocacy guides, and other materials produced in the Stephen and Sandra Sheller Center for Social Justice at Temple University Beasley School of Law. These publications are the result of the Center's work to promote justice for disadvantaged populations.

TaxNotes - Tax Analysts Web Services This link opens in a new window
Note: Users must first register for a TaxNotes account using their @temple.edu email address. Go to TaxNotes Sign In, enter your @temple.edu email address, and click ‘Next’. If your email is not already recognized by TaxNotes, you'll be directed to the account registration page. If you have an existing TaxNotes account, you'll be prompted to enter your password.
Tax Analysts provides news, commentary, and in-depth analysis for tax policy and procedure.

West Academic Study Aids
Familiar study aids like Nutshells, Hornbooks, Gilbert Law Summaries, and more are now accessible online through the West Academic Study Aids package. Resources are available for 1L and upper division courses, as well as law school and career success. To use these study aids remotely or through the mobile app, create an account from a campus computer. Use the link above, click "Create an Account," and register using your @temple.edu email. Accounts are available for all Temple Law School students, faculty, and staff. These study aids are not a part of Westlaw Edge; register a separate account.

WordRake
WordRake is an add-in created by legal writing coaches that can help you edit documents in Microsoft Word. WordRake will suggest edits and revisions to your work to improve clarity and brevity. Just like using track changes, go through each suggested edit and accept or reject it. View a video demo here. Access to WordRake ends when current keys expire August 31, 2024.
VitalLaw
Formerly named Cheetah, VitalLaw provides access to CCH resources in a broad range of topics including tax law, corporate law, and legal compliance. The library's subscriptions include the Practice of Law Library, the Litigation Library, the Almanac of the Federal Judiciary, Administrative Law, Folk on the Delaware General Corporation Law, and the Corporate Legal Compliance Handbook.

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu