Physician Assistant Program

Designed as a highly visual and practical resource to be used across the spectrum of lifelong learning, Ballweg's Physician Assistant, 7th Edition, helps you master all the core competencies needed for physician assistant certification, recertification, and clinical practice. It remains the only textbook that covers all aspects of the physician assistant profession, the PA curriculum, and the PA's role in clinical practice. Ideal for both students and practicing PAs, it features a succinct, bulleted writing style, convenient tables, practical case studies, and clinical application questions that enable you to master key concepts and clinical applications. Addresses all six physician assistant competencies, as well as providing guidance for the newly graduated PA entering practice.  Includes five new chapters: What Is a Physician Assistant, and How Did We Get Here?, Effective Use of Technology for Patient-Centered Care, Success in the Clinical Year, Transitioning to Practice and Working in Teams,  and Finding Your Niche.  Features an enhanced focus on content unique to the PA profession that is not readily found in other resources, more illustrations for today's visually oriented learners, a more consistent format throughout, and a new emphasis on the appropriate use of social media among healthcare professionals.  Provides updated content throughout to reflect the needs of the PA profession,  including new content on self-care for the PA to help prevent burnout, suicide, and other hazards faced by healthcare professionals.  Guides students in preparation for each core clinical rotation and common electives, as well as working with  special patient populations such as patients experiencing homelessness and patients with disabilities.  Includes quick-use resources, such as objectives and key points sections for each chapter, tip boxes with useful advice, abundant tables and images, and more than 130 updated case studies.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices, as well as exclusive eBook chapters: A Primer on Learning Objectives, A Primer on Item Writing, and A Primer on Team-Based Learning.

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right.   NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle.   UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations.  UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter.

Provide safe and effective care to every patient with the fully revised 4th Edition of Essential Clinical Procedures. Written by experts in the field, this widely used reference shows you step by step how to perform more than 70 of the most common diagnostic and treatment-related procedures in today's primary care and specialist settings. You'll find clear, concise coverage of the skills you need to know, including new and advanced procedures and new procedure videos. Covers patient preparation, the proper use of instruments, and potential dangers and complications involved in common procedures, as well as nonprocedural issues such as informed consent, standard precautions, patient education, and procedure documentation. Includes new chapters on Point-of-Care Ultrasound and Ring Removal, as well as 34 new procedure videos. Features significantly revised content on cryosurgery . injection techniques . arterial puncture . shoulder/finger subluxations . sterile technique . outpatient coding . casting and splinting . blood cultures . standard precautions . and more. Contains more than 200 high-quality illustrations, including updated images of office pulmonary function testing and wound closure. Uses a consistently formatted presentation to help you find information quickly. Reflects the latest evidence-based protocols and national and international guidelines throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

A pocket guide that includes essential information used in everyday medical practice. Topics include ACLS protocols, normal lab values, serum drug levels, common healthcare equations, chart note formats, glucose tolerance values, immunization schedule, developmental milestones, APGAR scoring exam, history and physical exam, neurological exam, dermatome maps, Glasgow coma scale, and Snellen eye charts.

A comprehensive, evidence-based introduction to the principles and practices of patient communication in a clinical setting Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition presents a step-by-step methodology for mastering every aspect of the medical interview. Readers will learn how to confidently obtain from patients accurate biomedical facts, as well as critical personal, social, and emotional information, allowing them to make a precise diagnosis, develop effective treatment plans, and forge strong clinician-patient relationships. The most evidence-based guide available on the topic, Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition applies the proven 5-step approach, which integrates patient- and clinician-centered skills to improve effectiveness without adding extra time to the interview duration. The book's user-friendly design features icons, boxed case vignettes, and use of color to highlight key points, and pedagogy includes learning an practice exercises in each chapter.

Master key pharmacological concepts and practices with the most comprehensive, authoritative guide available  Doody's Core Titles for 2023! Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades.  Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, the guide covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. This edition has been extensively updated to provide expanded coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, and new drugs Delivers the knowledge and insight needed to excel in every facet of pharmacology!. Encompasses all aspects of medical pharmacology, including botanicals and over-the-counter drugs Major revisions of the chapters on immunopharmacology, antiseizure, antipsychotic, antidepressant, antidiabetic, anti-inflammatory, and antiviral drugs, prostaglandins, and central nervous system neurotransmitters New chapter on the increasingly relevant topic of cannabis pharmacology Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information Revised full-color illustrations provide more information about drug mechanisms and effects and help clarify important concepts Trade Name/Generic Name tables are provided at end of each chapter for easy reference when writing a chart order or prescription Includes descriptions of important new drugs released through May 2019 New and updated coverage of general concepts relating to recently discovered receptors, receptor mechanisms, and drug transporters

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right.   NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle.   UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations.  UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter.

The most popular annual guide of its kind--fully updated to reflect all new clinical developments in every field of adult medicine For 60+ years, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables you to find the answers you need quickly and easily.  Packed with trusted content that keeps you up to date current on the changing guidelines and treatments on an annual basis, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2023 is completely focused on bedside clinical issues. It covers all primary care topics, including gynecology, obstetrics, dermatology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, neurology, toxicology, and urology.  Features *  200 photos and illustrations and hundreds of quick-access drug treatment tables, with indexed tradenames and updated drug prices *  Year in Review table highlights key clinical updates over the last year *  Comprehensive coverage of patient care, focusing on the diagnostic tools relevant to day-to-day practice *  Annual updates to topics in all chapters in a consistent format, drugs, tables, and images and annual review of advances in HIV treatment *  Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders *  Diagnostic and treatment algorithms present important information in an at-a-glance style *  Carefully curated references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information *  Electronic-only chapters available to all book customers *  Expanded content available online and in eBook for every chapter

Provide safe and effective care to every patient with the fully revised 4th Edition of Essential Clinical Procedures. Written by experts in the field, this widely used reference shows you step by step how to perform more than 70 of the most common diagnostic and treatment-related procedures in today's primary care and specialist settings. You'll find clear, concise coverage of the skills you need to know, including new and advanced procedures and new procedure videos. Covers patient preparation, the proper use of instruments, and potential dangers and complications involved in common procedures, as well as nonprocedural issues such as informed consent, standard precautions, patient education, and procedure documentation. Includes new chapters on Point-of-Care Ultrasound and Ring Removal, as well as 34 new procedure videos. Features significantly revised content on cryosurgery . injection techniques . arterial puncture . shoulder/finger subluxations . sterile technique . outpatient coding . casting and splinting . blood cultures . standard precautions . and more. Contains more than 200 high-quality illustrations, including updated images of office pulmonary function testing and wound closure. Uses a consistently formatted presentation to help you find information quickly. Reflects the latest evidence-based protocols and national and international guidelines throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The essential guide to more than 450 of the most commonly performed diagnostic tests - updated with the latest molecular, genetic, and microbiological tests A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition is a concise guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 of the laboratory and microbiology tests most relevant to the general practice of medicine. This on-the-spot clinical companion also includes coverage of diagnostic imaging, electrocardiology, echocardiography, and the use of tests in differential diagnosis. Features: * Covers areas of internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, neurology, and obstetrics and gynecology * Over 25 new or substantially revised laboratory tests * New and updated coverage of emerging and re-emerging pathogens and infectious agents,including the Zika and Ebola viruses * Updated material on molecular and genetic tests, including pharmacogenetics tests * An entire section of diagnostic algorithms * Full literature citations with PubMed identification (PMID) numbers included for each reference * Details costs and risks of various procedures and tests * Full section on electrocardiography and echocardiography If you've been looking for an authoritative, up-to-date, and easy-to-carry guide to the latest diagnostic testing procedures, your search ends here.

The Voice of Clinical ReasonA Doody's Core Title for 2023!  Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is the world's most trusted clinical medicine text--and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine provides the informational foundation you need for the best patient care possible. This new edition is fully updated with timely new chapters and essential updates across the spectrum of internal medicine.  Written and edited by the world's top experts in their respective fields, this landmark guide provides comprehensive, accurate, and essential coverage of the pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of disease.  Harrison's is world-renowned as the most authoritative source for:  * Clear, concise schemas that facilitate the generation of differential diagnoses to reason efficiently through complex real world clinical cases * The physiologic and etiologic basis of signs and symptoms, which are covered through a wealth of unsurpassed expert guidance and linked to the disease-specific chapters that follow * Updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines * Excellent and extensive visual support, including radiographs, clinical photos, schematics, and high-quality drawings * Coverage of both therapeutic approaches and specific treatment regimens * Practical clinical decision trees and algorithms * Organ/system-specific sections, with clinically relevant pathophysiology and practical clinical advice on the approach to the patient, strategies towards building a differential diagnosis, outstanding clinical algorithms and diagnostic schema, a wealth of clinical images and diagrams, current clinical guidelines, and general and specific approaches to therapy Harrison's remains the most trusted resource in a world influenced by endless sources of medical information. The most timely and comprehensive updates from the world's top experts are featured in the 21st edition:  * Current coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of diseases, from COVID to dementia to sepsis to multiple sclerosis to lung cancer * Updated content that reflects new approved therapeutics and new practice-changing guidelines and evidence summaries * More than 1000 clinical, pathological, and radiographic photographs, diagnostic and therapeutic decision trees, and clear schematics and diagrams describing pathophysiologic processes * Numerous atlases featuring curated collections of important visual aspects of diagnosis and management * Updated and time-saving curation and synthesis of established and new medical literature and studies * Clinically relevant coverage of disease mechanics and pathophysiology, and related therapeutic mechanisms

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A practical clinically relevant introduction to diagnostic radiology Introduction to Basic Radiology is written to provide non-radiologists with the level of knowledge necessary to order correct radiological examinations, improve image interpretation, and enhance their interpretation of various radiological manifestations. The book focuses on the clinical scenarios most often encountered in daily practice and discusses practical imaging techniques and protocols used to address common problems. Relevant case scenarios are included to demonstrate how to reach a specific diagnosis. Introduction to Basic Radiology is divided into ten chapters. The first two chapters provide basic information on various diagnostic imaging techniques and control agents. Each of the following chapters discuss imaging of specific organ systems and begin with a description of the imaging modality of choice and illustrates the relevant features to help simplify the differential diagnosis. You will also find important chapters on pediatric radiology and women's imaging. Unlike other introductory texts on the subject, this book treats diagnosis from a practical point of view. Rather than discuss various diseases and classify them from the pathologic standpoint, Introduction to Basic Radiology utilizes cases from the emergency room and physician's offices and uses a practical approach to reach a diagnosis. The cases walk you through a radiology expert's analysis of imaging patterns. These cases are presented progressively, with the expert's thinking process described in detail. The cases highlight clinical presentation, clinical suspicion, modality of choice, radiologic technique, and pertinent imaging features of common disease processes.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A full-color case-based review of the essentials of pathophysiology covering all major organs and systems More than 130 case studies with Q&A A Doody's Core Title for 2020!  The goal of this trusted text is to introduce you to clinical medicine by reviewing the pathophysiologic basis of 132 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice. The authors, all experts in their respective fields, have provided a concise review of relevant normal structure and function of each body system, followed by a description of the pathophysiologic mechanisms that underlie several common diseases related to that system. The accessible presentation features high-quality full-color illustrations, and numerous tables and diagrams. Each chapter of Pathophysiology of Disease concludes with a collection of case studies and questions designed to test your understanding of the pathophysiology of each clinical entity discussed. These case studies allow you to apply your knowledge to specific clinical situations. Detailed answers to each case study question are provided at the end of the book.  This unique interweaving of physiological and pathological concepts will put you on the path toward thinking about signs and symptoms in terms of their pathophysiologic basis, giving you an understanding of the "why" behind illness and treatment. HERE ARE SOME OF THE MANY UPDATES AND ADDITIONS: *Twelve additional case studies, bringing the total to 132, one for each of the clinical entities discussed in the book's 24 chapters *More than 2/3 of the chapters are enhanced and refreshed by the input of new contributors *Totally revised chapter on neoplasia *New chapter sections on urticaria, spinocerebellar ataxia, idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, and spondyloarthropathies *New tables summarizing adverse prognostic signs in acute pancreatitis, genetic syndromes associated with pancreatic cancer, and causes of end-stage renal disease *New diagnosis and etiologic classification of diabetes mellitus, and review of mechanisms of newest pharmacologic agents for its treatment *Updates on fine-needle aspiration biopsy of thyroid nodules, and thyroid disorders in pregnancy *Updated references throughout the book

The most practical, up-to-date guide available for accurately diagnosing and effectively treating child patients--from birth to adolescence A Doody's Core Title for 2023! The authoritative resource to pediatric medical conditions most often encountered in daily practice, CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics provides the evidence-based information readers need to deliver effective care in every situation. Packed with 200 photos and illustrations, this evidence-based text offers succinct, accurate overviews of important pediatric health concerns, such as childhood nutrition and eating disorders; substance use; psychiatric disorders; child abuse; oral medicine and dentistry; immunization; and emergencies and injuries. Complete with an invaluable guide to normal laboratory values, it provides detailed descriptions of diseases, as well as diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and present all information in the time-saving style that makes LANGE CURRENT books so popular: Problem, Essentials of Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis. NEW to this edition:

The leading introductory textbook on geriatrics - completely updated and revised A Doody's Core Title for 2022!  Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics is an engagingly written, up-to-date introductory guide to the core topics in geriatric medicine. Since 1984, its goal has remained unchanged: to help clinicians do a better job of caring for their older patients. You will find thorough and authoritative coverage of all the important issues in geriatrics, along with concise, practical guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of the diseases and disorders most commonly encountered in an elderly patient. Presented in full-color, this classic features a strong focus on the field's must-know concepts, from the nature of clinical aging to differential diagnosis of important geriatric syndromes to drug therapy and health services. The Eighth Edition has been completely revised to provide the most current updates on the assessment and management of geriatric care. FEATURES: Numerous tables and figures that summarize conditions, values, mechanisms, therapeutics, and more Thorough coverage of preventive services and disease screening Eight chapters devoted to general management strategies Important chapters on ethical issues and palliative care Appendix of Internet resources on geriatrics Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics, Eighth Edition is the best resource available to help healthcare professionals provide the innovative, cost-effective, and  person-centered care that older people and their caregivers deserve.  

An up-to-date clinically focused text written to answer even the most difficult obstetrics and gynecology question  A Doody's Core Title for 2021! The single-source OB/GYN resource acclaimed for its currency, comprehensiveness, and strong focus on the practical aspects of clinical diagnosis and patient management Expanded and extensively updated to reflect the latest research and advances - including the concepts of precision medicine Of value to medical students, residents, and practicing physicians who will find this an outstanding guide to the management of common and uncommon conditions Ready-to-apply coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders Strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity, delivering exactly the amount of information needed for quick diagnosis, effective treatment, and improved outcomes Strong emphasis on disease prevention and evidence-based medicine Hundreds anatomic drawings, image studies, diagrams, charts, and graphs NEW CHAPTER on Benign Disorders of the Uterine Corpus; Cardiac Disorders in Pregnancy and Pulmonary Disorders in Pregnancy are now two separate chapters for more detailed, focused coverage of these important topics Quick-access design facilities use at the point of care

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Evidence-based, point-of-care information on the full scope of surgical diseases CURRENT Diagnosis& Treatment Surgery delivers to-the-point information on more than 1,000 diseases and disorders that surgeons are most often required to treat. Concise yet thorough,the book covers both general surgery and the surgical subspecialties, including neurosurgery, otolaryngology, plastic and reconstructive surgery, gynecology, orthopedic surgery, urology, and pediatric surgery. This Fifteenth Edition has been updated throughout to reflect the latest research and discoveries. The consistent presentation, headings, and accessible text makes it easy to find answers quickly.  * An outstanding review for the USMLE and shelf examinations * The best introductory text to the field of surgery * More than 600 photographs and illustrations * Detailed treatment algorithms * Updated throughout with the latest research and discoveries * Intuitively organized to help you find answers quickly and easily * More than 200 chapter review multiple choice questions

The BEST EDITION yet of the #1 text for surgical practice and education A  Doody's Core Title for 2022! For half-a-century, no other text has provided such a solid grounding in basic science, anatomy, operative techniques, and more recently, professional development and leadership training, as Schwartz's Principles of Surgery. Written by the world's foremost surgeons, this landmark reference offers distinctly modern and all-encompassing coverage of every important topic in general surgery.  Enhanced by a new two volume presentation, the Eleventh Edition has been completely updated and refreshed with an emphasis on state-of-the-art, evidence-based surgical care.  You will find an exciting array of new contributors from around the world, new chapters on cutting-edge topics, plus the acclaimed learning aids that make the material easier to understand and memorize. This outstanding content is bolstered by more than 800 photographs and 1,300 line drawings, most in full color, as well as online videos demonstrating key operations. Here's why the Eleventh Edition is the best edition yet: Six timely new chapters on important topics such as enhanced recovery after surgery (ERAS), ambulatory/outpatient surgery, evidence for surgery practice, skills and simulation, and web-based education and social media High-quality full-color design showcases an unsurpassed illustration program Emphasis on high-yield discussion of diagnosis and treatment of surgical disease, arranged by organ system and surgical specialty Acclaimed learning aids (many new to this edition), including an abundance of completely up-to-date tables that summarize the most current evidence, boxed key points, detailed anatomical figures, diagnostic and management algorithms, and an abundance of completely up-to-date tables, and key references More than the field's cornerstone textbook, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery is an international compendium of the knowledge and technique of the world's leading surgeons.

The long-awaited new edition of the world's most widely used and highly regarded textbook and reference of emergency medicine  A Doody's Core Title for 2022! Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine is THE essential resource for everyone working in, and teaching emergency medicine.   The Ninth Edition provides the depth and breadth of coverage that reflects the complexity and expertise needed to practice emergency medicine in today's fast-paced environments. This comprehensive text is an important clinical resource for physicians, residents and students, advance practice providers, emergency nurses, EMTs, and paramedics.  It is a necessary resource for in-training and board examinations, and recertification.  Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine covers everything from prehospital care, disaster preparedness, and basic and advanced resuscitative techniques, to all the significant medical, traumatic, and environmental conditions requiring emergency treatment in adults, children and neonates.  Highlights of the Ninth Edition:  Full-color design with more tables than ever to succinctly present key information Extensive updates to all sections, incorporating the latest clinical and evidence-based information Online access to over 100 videos, covering a wide range of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and POCUS for obstetric/gynecologic, pediatric, musculoskeletal, and vascular conditions World-class pediatric section on the care of neonates, infants, and children Expanded chapters on the management of gynecologic and obstetric conditions and emergencies Updated information on toxicologic and environmental emergencies Contemporary, concise discussion of ED identification and treatment of opioid use disorders Updated information on procedural sedation Expert advice on the management and care of transgender patients Latest information available on neurologic and cardiac emergencies From the reviews of the seventh edition: "Collectively, they have once again produced an excellent text that manages to cover the broad scope of emergency medicine while remaining an easily readable and practical resource....Last, for the inevitable comparison of this current edition of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine with other available emergency medicine textbooks available: in my opinion, Tintinalli's still comes out on top. It is more concise and easier to read than some, yet it covers the breadth of emergency medicine practice more comprehensively than others....Just as previous editions did, the seventh presents all of the most pertinent and up-to-date information in a well-organized format that is comprehensive yet easy to read. That and many of the attractive new features in this current edition will ensure its place on my bookshelf for years to come."―JAMA