Recreation and Leisure Studies

ARTBibliographies Modern (ABM) contains abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews from 19th to the present. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present.

International Bibliography of Art provides coverage of international scholarship within the following broad parameters: European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present and global art since 1945. It also includes visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation.

International Index to Music Periodicals provides indexing and abstracts for international music periodicals. It also includes full text journals on music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theater, theory, popular music forms and composition.

Music Index Online contains indexing and abstracts for every aspect of the classical and popular world of music including musicological and organological topics, as well as book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries from 1976 to the present. Some backfile data from the period 1962-1975 is also included.

RILM Abstracts contains citations on international music. The file is produced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale, and covers the period 1969 to the present.

Google Books provides online access to full text of public domain and out-of-copyright books, reproduced either from text provided by publishers or by the libraries.

Library Search is your gateway to discover books, journal articles, and much more at Temple University Libraries. Additional information can be found in our Library Search FAQ's.

NCBI Bookshelf is a growing collection of biomedical titles from the National Center for Biotechnology Information.

Note: Search for ‘Temple University’ on the 'Sign in with your school or institution' page and enter an @temple.edu email address. Content is only available for online viewing and link sharing. There are no options to download or print.
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
O'Reilly for Higher Education (formerly Safari Tech Books Online) provides access to current knowledge, trends, conversations, and real-world experiences in business and technology. The content includes ebooks, video, learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, and audio books. Our subscription does not currently support the O'Reilly app.

WorldCat allows you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world

ABI/INFORM provides publications on business conditions, trends, and management techniques. Titles are available full-text, including the Wall Street Journal.

Business Source Complete contains full text journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Some of the titles included are Harvard Business Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, etc.

Communication Source (formerly Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC)) contains databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies. It includes CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index.

Econlit contains indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature compiled from the American Economic Association's Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes.

Regional Business News incorporates full text news information from all over the world including A&G Information, Africa News Service, Inter Press Service, Resource News International, South American Business, M2 Communications, PR Newswire, Business Newswire, Canadian Corporate News, News Bytes News Network and Phillips Business Information Highlights.

Education Source provides a full-text collection of education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks. It covers all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education.

ERIC [via EBSCOhost] contains bibliographic records of research reports, conference papers, teaching guides, books, and journal articles relating to the practice of education. ERIC Digests are included. Covers the period 1966-present.

JSTOR provides page images of ebooks, ebook chapters, and back issues of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to current publication. It also offers millions of high-quality ArtStor images, curated from leading museums and archives around the world.

Psychiatry Online includes access to the full-text of the DSM-V (DSM-5) as well as several journals from American Psychiatric Publishing, including the American Journal of Psychiatry.

APA PsycInfo contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.

The database INSPEC may be searched simultaneously with Compendex. INSPEC covers electronic and electrical engineering with substantial computer science content also found in INSPEC.

Note: Follow these instructions to link Google Scholar with Temple's resources.
Google Scholar provides search for scholarly literature. It covers disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Science.gov is a gateway to science information resources of the U.S. government. Users can search both government web sites and government databases. Full-text available.

Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. It also includes access to EndNote Online.

Concurrent user limit: 30
HealthSTAR contains bibliographic records from MEDLINE (1975 to present) and CATLINE (1985 to present), and records from three sources: the American Hospital Association, the National Health Planning Information Center and NLM's National Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR).

Journals@OVID contains scientific, technical, and medical journals. Includes access of all the bibliographic citations, references, and abstracts as well as to the full text of select journals.

MEDLINE (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database that contains references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy subheadings and explosion capabilities.

Sports Medicine & Education Index (formerly Physical Education Index) provides citation information and abstracts to journal articles about physical education and related disciplines (sports, sports medicine, dance, coaching, fitness, motor learning, etc.)

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Note: This is an upgrade from America: History & Life.
America: History & Life with Full Text contains bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada It includes historical, social sciences and humanities journals. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes citations of books and media reviews from a selection of journals in US and Canadian history and related fields, as well as citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials contains full text version of the ATLA Religion Database (ATLA). This database is a collection of religion and theology journals scholars in the United States. Coverage of this database dates back to 1949.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes journals in the social and humanities sciences, covering 1953-present.

Proquest has provided additional product information and 'Search Tips.'
Literature Online (LION) includes access to works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Proquest Arts & Humanities contains full text coverage of journals in Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

British Periodicals Online provides access to full text periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, containing high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

DPLA offers millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country and is available to all.

Concurrent user limit: 12
GenderWatch is a database of diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. It contains archival material, dating back to 1970. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Hathi Trust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. Temple users have access to HathiTrust items that are in the public domain.

Library & Information Science Abstracts contains abstracts and indexes from international periodicals. Subject coverage includes aspects of librarianship, library users and information retrieval.

Academic One File provides full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. This database contains articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text.

ArticleFirst provides articles from journals from 1990 to the present.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) contains arts, humanities, and social science journals. A&HCI provides information and data from 1975 to the present.

Hospitality & Tourism Index provides indexing and abstracts for scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism dating as far back as 1965.

Concurrent user limit: 8
SPORT Discus is a full text international sports database which covers the fields of exercise, medicine, biomechanics, coaching and sports medicine.

Library & Information Science Abstracts contains abstracts and indexes from international periodicals. Subject coverage includes aspects of librarianship, library users and information retrieval.

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts LLBA provides access to abstracts and indexes for international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Coverage begins in 1973.

MLA International Bibliography is a database of citations to critical documents on folklore, language, linguistics, and literature, including articles from journals, monographs, collections & reference works.

Hein Online is an online product with pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline provides coverage from law and law-related periodicals. It also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754.

Military & Government Collection provides access to periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to all branches of the military.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Document Data Base contains summaries of publications on criminal justice, including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. The time period covered is from the early 1970's to the present.

NexisUni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) offers full-text access to news, legal, and business sources including: journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, federal and state cases and statutes, and U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.

West Law Campus Research provides online access to legal, news, and business-related research for students, faculty, and library staff.

Access World News includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.

Gale NewsVault allows users to cross-search all Gale newspaper archives using a single interface.

YouTube tutorials 
PAIS covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.

Full-text of the Philadelphia Inquirer via Proquest Newsstand from 1983 to present.

Cambridge Journals Online contains Full text online journals from Cambridge University Press.

Emerald Journals is an online full text database of journals published by Emerald. Topics include management, library & information services, engineering, applied sciences, and technology. Articles can be accessed via HTML or PDF.

Sage Journals Online provides access to journals in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences from Sage Publications.

Taylor and Francis Online provides access to articles from thousands of electronic journals, published by Taylor & Francis and its subsidiaries.

Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Wiley Online Library provides full-text access to current journals and ebooks published by Wiley-Blackwell (including Blackwell Reference, Encyclopedia of Literature, and Blackwell Compass titles). The great majority of journals are available to the Temple community online.

Note: As of 12/15/2025 Credo has moved to the updated Infobase platform. Please update any bookmarks accordingly.
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.

PQDT Global offers millions of works from thousands of universities. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

Papers First contains citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia. Covers October 1993 to the present.

Proceedings First provides citations of publications from worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia. Covers 1993 to the present. (Updated twice weekly)

Agricultural Science Collection contains agricultural science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from AGRICOLA.

EMBASE contains references to journal articles in biomedicine. The references consist of authors, title, journal data, abstract and keywords. EMBASE contains European literature, and coverage in the field of drug research, pharmacology and pharmaceutics. The database can be searched back to 1974.

The site Free Access to Pascal and Francis is an archive of the PASCAL and FRANCIS bibliographic databases in exact, human and social sciences, produced by the Inist-CNRS since 1972 and hitherto accessible with a subscription.

Science Online provides access to the journal Science from the American Association for the Advancement of Science from 1996 to the present. Also includes Science Express - electronic publication of selected Science papers in advance of print and ScienceNOW - daily science news from Science journalists.

Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Elsevier's Science Direct provides full-text ebook and journal content for scientific, technical, social science, and medical disciplines.

Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts contains journals from various countries focusing on health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences includes bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.

Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

Social Science Premium Collection contains international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.

Social Sciences Citation Index is a database which contains searchable author abstracts covering the journal literature of the social sciences.