Ready, Set, Research! Materials for Writing Your Research Paper

While Lexis and Westlaw may have important resources for your research paper (statutes, news, treatises, and more), Temple provides access to many other valuable information sources.

• HeinOnline (Temple Law access)
  HeinOnline is a treasure trove of material beyond law reviews and journals. Collections include early English and American legal history, legislative histories, treaties, commission reports, and much more. You can search across all databases or target specific ones for searching or browsing.

• Temple University Libraries Database Collection (Temple University access)
  Temple University Libraries provide access to more than 700 databases, including legal, business, social science, and criminal justice databases. They can be searched by name or browsed alphabetically, or you can sort by subject. You also can contact a subject librarian directly for additional guidance.

• Oxford Materials (Temple Law access)

  Temple Law provides access to three sets of Oxford materials:

  Oxford Bibliographies Online offers authoritative research guides with encyclopedia-like entries containing annotated bibliographies. Temple Law currently provides access to the Criminology and International Law subject databases. 

  Oxford Handbooks Online: Law reviews the current thinking in a field or topic, including potential future directions. The law collection contains numerous handbooks on various aspects of international and foreign law, such as European Union law, international adjudication, international environmental law, international investment law, international law in armed conflict, and the use of force in international law, but also has handbooks addressing other topics, such as jurisprudence and philosophy of law, the U.S. Constitution, and financial regulation.

  Oxford Scholarship Online provides access to hundreds of legal books published by Oxford University Press.

• Temple University Libraries Search (open access)
  Temple Law Library has thousands of print and e-books. To find them, run a subject search in the Temple University Libraries catalog, or ask a librarian to shelf browse the closed stacks.

• Worldcat (open access)
  Worldcat collects data from thousands of library catalogs world-wide. If a subject search shows a title you’re interested in but Temple doesn’t have, you can request it via E-ZBorrow (faster, cheaper for the university, and often with longer check-out periods) or InterLibrary Loan.

• For international materials, check out Temple's Law Library's Foreign, Comparative, and International Law library guide.

• Additional Electronic Resources
  Temple Law Library’s Electronic Resources (part of the library's webpage) links to dozen of electronic resources of various types, covering varied practice areas. Take a quick browse to see if any are applicable to your paper topic.