Research Guides: Child Welfare Policy: SSW 4306: Find Policy Information

Identifying policies and background information

CQ Researcher

Concurrent user limit: 20
CQ Researcher provides reports written by journalists, footnoted and fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports.
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Concurrent user limit: 1
Encyclopedia of Social Work is a collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). This resource provides articles on topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards.

Encyclopedia of Macro Social Work
Concurrent user limit: 1
The Encyclopedia of Macro Social Work updates and expands upon all of the macro content in the Encyclopedia of Social Work. Articles cover macro practice methods (organizations, community, policy); macro theories, concepts, ideologies, problems; and contexts relating to macro social work.

Library Search: Books
Social historians and other scholars often publish books about particular social issues that cover the history of a social problem, causes and responses, and give an overview of the relevant policy making.

Wikipedia
Once you have identified a particular policy or piece of legislation, the Wikipedia page for it may have convenient links out to relevant government documents and research reports.

Policy research reports

Think Tanks, advocacy organizations, and foundations often provide policy research reports. These can be found in databases, and on individual organization websites.

American Policy Directory
Links to think tank and advocacy group websites by topic via University of Oregon Libraries
Harvard Kennedy School Think Tank Search
Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations.
Policy Commons
Note: This is the free version of Policy Commons.
Policy Commons offers access to over a million policy documents from thousands of IGOs, NGOs, research centers and think tanks. Includes the digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research previously known as PolicyArchive.

Dimensions

Note: Access to Dimensions is provided by the Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR). Users will be prompted to login with Temple AccessNet ID and password.
Digital Science Dimensions is a research analytics tool that performs publication and dataset searches for academic use. Dimensions brings together grants, publications, citations, alternative metrics, clinical trials, patents and policy documents.
Policy File Index
Policy File Index is a resource for U.S. public policy research. Users are able to access timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
Policy Citation Index [via Web of Science]

Policy Citation Index (1950-present) offers published policy reports from leading government, think tanks, and other non-government organizations. View cited references and navigate to research publications used to formulate public policy recommendations.
PAIS International

YouTube tutorials
PAIS covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.

All public policy library databases

State policy resources

Policy Levers for Preventing Child Maltreatment (NCSL Report)
Preventing child maltreatment at a population level likely will require a scaffolded approach that builds on multiple policy levers across the range of policy areas to impact the lives of children and their families. States are already using many child maltreatment prevention policy levers available to them but sometimes these strategies may not be recognized as child maltreatment prevention strategies.
Family First State Plans and Enacted Legislation
see also Family First Prevention Services Act (NCSL Report)

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu