Research Guides: World War II: Hist 2812: Find Primary Sources

Historical Newspapers - International and US Sources

The following databases include major US and British newspapers with coverage from 1939-1945. Use Advanced Search to limit your search results by date.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to newly added titles is guaranteed through May 2027
ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains many US and international newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries, including the New York Times, Philadelphia Inquirer, and Washington Post.
London Times (1785-2019) [via Gale Times Digital Archive] This link opens in a new window
London Times provides a searchable, full-text and full-image archive of every page of the (London) Times from 1785 to 2014.
New York Times Full-Text / Full-Image (1851-2020) [via ProQuest Historical Newspapers] This link opens in a new window
Incorporates the New York Times Index

Primary Source Document Collections/Databases

The Atomic Bomb and the End of World War II
Collection of primary sources from the National Security Archive
Franklin D. Roosevelt, Papers as President
Digitized archive from the FDR Library
Japanese American Internment During World War II
Primary source set from the Digital Public Library of America
Nuremburg Trials Project
Search thousands of historical documents from the Nuremberg trials
World War II: Women on the Home Front
Primary source set from the Digital Public Library of America

Refugees, Relief, and Resettlement: Forced Migration and World War II This link opens in a new window
Access guaranteed through May 2027
Refugees, Relief and Resettlement chronicles the plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950, bringing together pamphlets, ephemera, government documents, relief organization publications, and refugee reports.
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
Service Newspapers of WWII consists of newspapers published during the war and its immediate aftermath (1939-1948). Temple U access includes Module I: Union Jack, Springbok, The Maple Leaf, Stars and Stripes London edition, Fauji Akhbar, Victory, and Eighth Army News.

Oral Histories

Veterans History Project
From the Library of Congress. The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.
Rutgers Oral History Archive
Collection of oral histories from World War II veterans