Research Guides: Physician Assistant Clerkship Resources: General Resources

Mobile Resources

Below are free mobile versions of resources included on this research guide.

AccessMedicine Mobile Access
Apple or Android mobile app that provides access to Quick Medical Dx & Rx, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, Differential Diagnosis Tool and Diagnostic Tests. You will need to create an AccessMedicine MyAccess account on a computer to be able to login into the app.
ePSS Mobile Access
The ePSS is an application designed to help primary care clinicians identify clinical preventive services that are appropriate for their patients. Android and Apple app.
PubMed for Handhelds
Mobile site features multiple ways to search PubMed/MEDLINE including PICO. Apple iOS app or website. Please note that this app does not connect to Temple full text subscriptions.
DynaMed Plus Mobile Access
Mobile app that allows offline DynaMed Plus access from your iPhone, iPad or Android device. We recommend that you be on Wi-Fi for the initial download of content because it is large.

Evidence Based Focus

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed provides access to evidence-based medical information, and includes topics of: diseases, disorders, symptoms, etiology, associated conditions, history and research findings, differential diagnosis and diagnostic testing, prognosis, treatment, prevention, and links to patient information. Summaries are derived from peer-reviewed sources.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. This collection also provides information about Cochrane groups.

ePSS
The ePSS is an application designed to help primary care clinicians identify clinical preventive services that are appropriate for their patients.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Specialized PubMed searches intended for clinicians to limit retrieval to articles that report research conducted with specific methodologies.
There are 3 search filters available from this page:
-Clinical Study Categories
-Systematic Reviews
-Medical Genetics

Article Databases & eBook Collections

AccessMedicine
This is a diverse collection of key medical reference texts for medical students and doctors providing authoritative and current medical data. Includes clinical cases and self-assessment tools; create free account to use.
AccessMedicine Mobile Access
Apple or Android mobile app that provides access to Quick Medical Dx & Rx, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, Differential Diagnosis Tool and Diagnostic Tests. You will need to create an AccessMedicine MyAccess account on a computer to be able to login into the app.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Ovid MEDLINE
Updated daily, MEDLINE on OvidSP offers you seamless and up-to-the-minute access to the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,500 biomedicine and life sciences journals.

R2 Library This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 1 user per title
R2 Library contains books in medicine, nursing, and allied health.

General Reference Books / eBooks

(ebook) Clinician's Pocket Reference by Gomella; Haist
11th edition
The original Scut Monkey Handbook is the market-leading survival guide for the wards and in the clinic. Medical students and other healthcare providers beginning their clinical rotations are the intended audience.
(ebook) Conn's Current Therapy 2017 by Edward T. Bope; Rick D. Kellerman
1st edtion
This resource covers more than 300 clinically relevant topics, and focuses focuses solely on the most current treatment protocols for common complaints, acute diseases, and chronic illnesses you're likely to see.
(ebook) Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2022 by Michael W. Rabow; Stephen J. McPhee; Maxine A. Papadakis
CMDT offers the most current insight into epidemiology, symptoms, signs, and treatment for more than 1,000 diseases and disorders. Includes concise, evidence-based answers to questions about hospital and ambulatory medicine for each topic.
(ebook) DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, 11th Edition by Richard F. LeBlond; Donald D. Brown; Manish Suneja; Joseph F. Szot
ISBN: 9781260134872
(ebook) Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence-Based Guide by Scott D. C. Stern; Adam S. Cifu; Diane Altkorn

Drug Info

AHFS DRUG INFORMATION® (2021)
The mission of AHFS Drug Information® (AHFS DI®) is to provide an evidence-based foundation for safe and effective drug therapy.

UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) is a resource on information for point-of-care drug and clinical information.

Patient Education

AccessMedicine
Printable patient education handouts on adult, pediatric, and drug topics. Multiple languages available.
Lexi-Comp
The Patient Education Module allows you to print complete patient educational packets with information on medications, conditions, and/or procedures in up to 19 languages. Select Patient Education link in website toolbar.
MedlinePlus
National Library of Medicine's website for patients and their families and friends.
Mayo Clinic
Patient care and health information

Temple University

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu