English Language & Literature

Gale Primary Sources cross searches all Gale digital archives. These primary source collections provide pages of newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs.

AMExplorer allows users to search across multiple Adam Matthew collections that include millions of pages of social sciences and humanities primary sources spanning the 15th – 21st centuries.

ProQuest One Literature provides content and tools to support the study of literature from a variety of sources including diverse primary texts, criticism, full-text journals, book reviews, dissertations, eBooks, reference material, audio, and video.

Contains citations to millions of books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives published between 1790 and 1919. It is probably the most comprehensive source for English language material printed in the 19th Century.

19th Century British Pamphlets offers online access to the most significant British pamphlets held in UK research libraries. The pamphlets are organized into collections and focus on the political, economic and social issues of the time.

Contains digitized images of historic newspapers, newsbooks, ephemera and national & regional papers from the British Isles. Searches Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers and Seventeenth & Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers simultaneously.

Contains full-text articles published in British periodicals during 1680s-1930s. Includes magisterial quarterlies and scholarly & professional organs, as well as coterie art periodicals, penny weeklies and illustrated family magazines.

Contains rare newspapers and journals printed between 1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of the long eighteenth-century social, political and literary life.

Includes digitized images of every page of the (London) Times.

Access guaranteed through May 2027
19th Century UK Periodicals offers content related to nineteenth-century literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, and the professions.

Contains digitized images of the pages of mainstream American, British, Irish, and Scottish newspapers and other periodicals, including The New York Times (1851-2007), The Guardian & Observer (1791-2003), The Irish Times (1859-2010), The Scotsman (1817-1950), American Periodical Series Online (1730s-1930s) and more.

Contains subject and author indexes to nearly 500 British and American periodicals published between 1802 and 1907.

Contains facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works from the Middle Ages and Renaissance through the Restoration and Victorian era.

Contains digitized images of rare print and manuscript texts on many aspects of gender, sexuality and culture in Great Britain from 1450-1910.

Contains maps, manuscripts, pamphlets, paintings, drawings and rare books devoted to colonial history, politics, culture and society.

Contains dramatic works published in the British Isles from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth century. Includes Elizabethan and Jacobean plays, as well as Medieval morality plays, mystery cycles, and nineteenth-century closet dramas.

Contains poems published in the British Isles from the eighth century to the early twentieth century. Includes canonical and lesser known poets, including women poets.

Contains poems published by poets in the British Isles and the British Empire, including Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries.

Contains materials focused on the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others.

Contains manuscript materials, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, ephemera, objects and rare books on the study of global commodities in world history. Users can explore the origins of the commodity -- coffee & tea, spices, silver & gold, opium, cotton, etc. -- their first uses, the trade that developed and the ways in which these items were marketed and consumed.

Access guaranteed through May 2027
John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera offers insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include Nineteenth-Century Entertainment, the Booktrade, Popular Prints, Crimes, Murders and Executions, and Advertising.

London Low Life is a full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.

Contains primary sources from the Long 19th century, including works in Western as well as non-Western languages, sourced from rare collections at libraries and other institutions around the globe.

Contains works of prose fiction by over 100 British and Irish authors from 1782-1903. Includes popular romances, sensation fiction, Colonial adventure novels and children’s literature.

Contains a vast collection of working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers anywhere in the world, all digitized in full color.

Contains poems from over 40 Scottish poets, plus extensive bio-critical essays, as well as selected criticism.

Contains documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world.

Contains digitized images of the parliamentary papers produced between 1801-1900.

Contains works written by English and American women between 1400-1850. Includes verse, fiction, and drama, as well as autobiographies, domestic manuals, and critical commentaries on select works and authors.