Skip to main content

Criminal Justice

A Guide to Resources

Begin Here

Select a database (see below) to find citations to peer-reviewed or scholarly journal articles on topics of interest, and links to fulltext; or select a database from the full list of more than 700 databases.

Search Journals Finder to determine which journals the library has access to and for which years.

Use Iliad (ILL) to obtain copies of articles from other libraries.

Contact Gregory McKinney, the library subject specialist for Criminal Justice if you need assistance with your research.

Sage Research Methods Online

Research Design? Statistics? Methodology? Its all in Sage Research Methods Online

Subject Specific Databases

Doing research in Criminal Justice often extends into other subject areas. For example, doing research on the topic of prisoner reentry may involve searching the business, education, psychology and social work databases:

Primary Databases for Criminal Justice

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

The databases below include journals from a wide variety of academic subjects, including Criminal Justice. They are good places to begin if you are unsure which database to use for finding articles on a topic, or if you would like to find articles on a topic from a range of different perspectives, for example, psychological, sociological, business, economics, historical and so on.

Television News Archives (Vanderbilt)

Add punch to your project or report with a map

NEED A MAP? Contact the Map Librarian to help you find what you need

Newspapers

Temple's newspaper databases provide direct full-text access to the back files of thousands of newspapers titles


Major Temple newspaper databases: If you have an article topic in mind, search one or more of the major newspaper databases listed (in alphabetical order) below.

Major dailies available full-text online through Temple:

The Marshall Project

The Marshall Project is a nonprofit, nonpartisan news organization founded on two simple ideas:

1) There is a pressing national need for high-quality journalism about the American criminal justice system. The U.S. incarcerates more people than any country in the world. Spiraling costs, inhumane prison conditions, controversial drug laws, and concerns about systemic racial bias have contributed to a growing bipartisan consensus that our criminal justice system is in desperate need of reform.

The recent disruption in traditional media means that fewer institutions have the resources to take on complex issues such as criminal justice. The Marshall Project stands out against this landscape by investing in journalism on all aspects of our justice system. Our work will be shaped by accuracy, fairness, independence, and impartiality, with an emphasis on stories that have been underreported or misunderstood. We will partner with a broad array of media organizations to magnify our message, and our innovative website will serve as a dynamic hub for the most significant news and comment from the world of criminal justice.

2) With the growing awareness of the system’s failings, now is an opportune moment to amplify the national conversation about criminal justice.

We believe that storytelling can be a powerful agent of social change. Our mission is to raise public awareness around issues of criminal justice and the possibility for reform. But while we are nonpartisan, we are not neutral. Our hope is that by bringing transparency to the systemic problems that plague our courts and prisons, we can help stimulate a national conversation about how best to reform our system of crime and punishment.