Chinese Composition: CHI 4296

Definitions, Terms, Ideas, Subjects

If you looking for general information to aid your Chinese writing assignments, there are many different types of sources that might be relevant.

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Oxford English Dictionary (OED), published by the Oxford University Press, is a descriptive dictionary of the English language. Included is the complete text of the 2nd. ed. of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World This link opens in a new window
Ethnologue is a database of information about the world’s 7000 living languages. For each language, it lists names and dialects, population estimates, location, details by country, vitality level, usage, and second language information.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library [GVRL]) is a database of encyclopedias and reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if the database is accessed from different libraries.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports across all major subject areas.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.