Research Guides: All Health Sciences Databases: Health & Rehabilitation Sciences

Health & Rehabilitation Sciences databases

AccessMedicine: Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window
Case Files Collection offers the best-selling Case Files content in an interactive format. This collection features: the complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files series books; an interactive format; and personalized functionality to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
Access Physiotherapy from McGraw-Hill features learning tools such as video demonstrations, image slides, online dissection, and quizzes. The complete contents of physical therapy textbooks and resources such as Orthopaedic Examination, Evaluation, and Intervention; Pharmacology for the Physical Therapist; Therapeutic Modalities for Rehabilitation; Imaging in Rehabilitation; and others, are included.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles is a full-text ejournal collection from the American Psychological Association, Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber Publishers.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts contains journals from various countries focusing on health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Provides indexing for nursing and health journals. The database contains records dating back to 1972. In addition, the database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, and selected conference proceedings.
CINAHL Abstracting and Indexing Database
Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students depend on the CINAHL Database to research their subject areas from this authoritative index of nursing and allied health journals. CINAHL indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. CINAHL also includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 1,446 active global OA journals.  Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.
Subject Headings
CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. These Subject Headings help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as local terminology.
Content Includes
3,814 active indexed and abstracted journals
3,461 active peer-reviewed indexed and abstracted journals
1,312 journals with searchable cited references
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. This collection also provides information about Cochrane groups.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source provides a full-text collection of education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks. It covers all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education.
Embase This link opens in a new window
EMBASE contains references to journal articles in biomedicine. The references consist of authors, title, journal data, abstract and keywords. EMBASE contains European literature, and coverage in the field of drug research, pharmacology and pharmaceutics. The database can be searched back to 1974.
ERIC [via EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
ERIC [via EBSCOhost] contains bibliographic records of research reports, conference papers, teaching guides, books, and journal articles relating to the practice of education. ERIC Digests are included. Covers the period 1966-present.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) [via EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 5
HaPI is a bibliographic database produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, and is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health and psychosocial sciences. It provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from Industrial Organizational Behavior and Education.
LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Life provides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.
LWW Health Library: Premium Basic Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Premium Basic Sciences Collection offers access to textbooks on core/fundamental topics, plus procedural videos, images, real-life case studies, and quiz banks for medical and health science students and practitioners.
Key titles include: Clinically Oriented Anatomy, Grant's Dissector, Histology: A Text and Atlas (6e), Histology: A Text and Atlas with Correlated Cell and Molecular Biology, Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews series.
PEDRo This link opens in a new window
PEDro is a free database of over 53,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Social Science Premium Collection contains international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. MEDLINE (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the largest component of PubMed and consists primarily of journal citations; articles indexed with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and curated with funding, genetic, chemical and other metadata.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Sage Reference This link opens in a new window
Sage References is a collection of authoritative encyclopedias and handbooks in the social and behavioral sciences.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 8
SPORT Discus is a full text international sports database which covers the fields of exercise, medicine, biomechanics, coaching and sports medicine.
TRIP Pro Database This link opens in a new window
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) is a free medical database providing access to high quality clinical research evidence. TRIP Pro is the enhanced version containing over 100,000 systematic reviews, medical images and videos, millions of full-text articles, and advanced searching.

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu