Find Newspapers - Intermediate Writing Seminar - Sports History: HIST 3096

US Newspapers

Historical Newspapers (approximately 1800-2000):

Black Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Black Historical Newspapers contains primary source material from American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. It covers the periods from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights.
New York Times Full-Text / Full-Image (1851-2021) [via ProQuest Historical Newspapers] This link opens in a new window
Incorporates the New York Times Index
Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001) [via ProQuest Historical Newspapers] This link opens in a new window
The Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-2001. When digitization is complete, the complete run will include 1829-2009.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to newly added titles is guaranteed through May 2027
ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains many US and international newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries, including the New York Times, Philadelphia Inquirer, and Washington Post.

Contemporary Newspapers (approximately 1980 - present):

US Newsstream (formerly ProQuest Newsstand) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Newsstream features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites dating back to 1980. Some titles include: Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.

British & International Newspapers

Contemporary Newspapers (approximately 2000 - present):

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
NexisUni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) offers full-text access to news, legal, and business sources including: journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, federal and state cases and statutes, and U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.

Historical Newspapers (approximately 1750-2000):

British Library Newspapers (1732-1950) This link opens in a new window
British Library Newspapers is a digital historic newspaper archive covering approximately 1750-1950. It provides access to historic newspapers, news books, ephemera and national & regional papers from the British Isles.
London Times (1785-2019) [via Gale Times Digital Archive] This link opens in a new window
London Times provides a searchable, full-text and full-image archive of every page of the (London) Times from 1785 to 2014.

Temple University

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu