Get Started - Business - General - Research Guides at Temple University

Find Background Information

Reference Sources, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are an excellent place to begin your research. They provide the background information you need to better understand your topic and to develop your keywords for deeper searching.

Recommended Online Library Reference Books & Resources:

Business Expert Press This link opens in a new window
Business Expert Press's Digital Libraries contains textbooks and reference materials that cover areas of business, including supply and operations management, international business, social media, finance, accounting, public relations, and marketing strategy.
Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Directory Library provides full-text, searchable access to Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations and Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the US. Users can also sort and export data from the directories.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 12 users on the platform
Oxford Reference Online includes subject and language reference sources from Oxford University Press, including many titles from the Oxford Companions Series. Browse or search single titles, specific subject areas, or the entire collection.

Wikipedia

Wikipedia can be a great reference resource to start learning about your topic. It can help you with:

Developing background knowledge about your topic, including an overview, definitions, and outline.
Discovering keywords, including related terms, sub-topics, and names of notable people, places, and events.
Finding links to other relevant resources.

It's generally true that Wikipedia should:

NOT be used as a main or only source of information for your project.
NOT be quoted/cited as a resource in your final project.

REMEMBER: Always make sure to follow the requirements communicated by your teacher. The appropriateness of different information resources varies depending on the circumstances of specific assignments and topics.