Research Guides: Bridge Program: Books & eBooks

Recommended Books

Bridges : United States academia for first-generation and international college students by Higgins, Shawn M. (Author) This text introduces students to a wide range of concepts, institutions, histories, and artifacts of United States college and university life. After discussing these items in easy-to-scan, concise, nuance-free prose, this textbook then offers useful lists, templates for writing and speaking in different discourses and situations, thought-provoking questions and activities for self-study and for classroom work, and pertinent hyperlinks for further information. Bridges is designed to help first-generation, first-year, English-language learners, and/or culturally unfamiliarized students more fully and successfully explore their educational environments. By using this book, students will be better prepared for the academic and social challenges of successfully undertaking higher education in English.
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781439919866
Publication Date: 2021
Brehe's Grammar Anatomy by Steven Brehe Brehe's Grammar Anatomy makes grammar accessible to general and specialist readers alike. This book provides an in-depth look at beginner grammar terms and concepts, providing clear examples with limited technical jargon. Whether for academic or personal use, Brehe's Grammar Anatomy is the perfect addition to any resource library.Features:Practice exercises at the end of each chapter, with answers in the back of the book, to help students test and correct their comprehensionFull glossary and index with cross-referencesEasy-to-read language supports readers at every learning stage
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781940771496
Publication Date: 2018-12-31
Advanced Academic Grammar for ESL Students by Haider, Rebecca Al (Author) This textbook was created for an advanced academic grammar course for ESL students. By the end of the course, students will recognize and demonstrate the appropriate use of advanced grammar structures. To meet these outcomes, students will listen to aural language that includes the target structures, identify and edit grammar errors in written language, read and analyze texts that include the target grammar structures, and demonstrate the correct and appropriate use of target structures in written and spoken language.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2021
Bad Ideas About Writing by Ball, Cheryl E. (Author), Loewe, Drew M (Author) We intend this work to be less a bestiary of bad ideas about writing than an effort to name bad ideas and suggest better ones. Some of those bad ideas are quite old, such as the archetype of the inspired genius author, the five-paragraph essay, or the abuse of adjunct writing teachers. Others are much newer, such as computerized essay scoring or gamification. Some ideas, such as the supposed demise of literacy brought on by texting, are newer bad ideas but are really instances of older bad ideas about literacy always being in a cycle of decline. Yet the same core questions such as what is good writing, what makes a good writer, how should writing be assessed, and the like persist across contexts, technologies, and eras. The project has its genesis in frustration, but what emerges is hope: hope for leaving aside bad ideas and thinking about writing in more productive, inclusive, and useful ways.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2017
College ESL Writers Applied Grammar and Composing Strategies for Success by Hall, Barbara (Author) College ESL Writers: Applied Grammar and Composing Strategies for Success is designed as a comprehensive grammar and writing etext for high intermediate and advanced level non-native speakers of English. We open the text with a discussion on the sentence and then break it down into its elemental components, before reconstructing them into effective sentences with paragraphs and larger academic assignments. Following that, we provide instruction in paragraph and essay writing with several opportunities to both review the fundamentals as well as to demonstrate mastery and move on to more challenging assignments. We have structured the etext into three basic parts. Part I, Composing Strategies and Techniques, includes a sequenced discussion from composing effective sentences through paragraph and essay writing. This includes the prewriting and planning stages of writing as well as the revising and editing stage in the first five chapters. Part II, Language Use, Grammar, and Mechanics, is meant to be used as a grammar and mechanics handbook as well as the practice and review of idiomatic wording. Part III, All About Writing: Samples, Topics, and Rubrics, has chapters with additional writing topics for practice, sample student papers, and rubrics for evaluating writing.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2018
Critical Thinking in Academic Research by Gruwell, Cindy (Author) Critical Thinking in Academic Research will introduce students to the techniques and principles of critical thinking. However, a commitment to lifelong learning is required for critical thinking, it takes more than a single course or reading a book. In order for students to develop their own arguments, they need to find supporting evidence. This text provides guidance on developing research questions and finding resources to answer the questions. This textbook is adapted from four sources. Choosing and Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research which addresses information literacy and research-based assignments. In addition three texts: PHI-130 Critical Reasoning, and Critical Thinking: Analysis and Evaluation of Argument – Version 3 provide the foundation for critical thinking in relation to research. The authors thank all for their work and willingness to openly share with other educators. Choosing & Using Sources: A guide to academic research by Ohio State University Libraries, is licensed under CC BY 4.0 Modifications: Text revised for clarity and flow Critical Thinking: Analysis and Evaluation of Argument by Martha Bailey, Shirlee Geiger, Hannah Love & Martin Wittenberg licensed under a CC BY 4.0. Modifications: revised for clarity and flow PHI -130 Critical Reasoning by Thomas Edison State College is licensed under CC BY 4.0 Modifications: Revised text for clarity and flow
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2022
Informed Arguments A Guide to Writing and Research by Pantuso, Terri (Author), LeMire, Sarah (Author), Anders, Kathy (Author) Welcome to composition and rhetoric! While most of you are taking this course because it is required, we hope that all of you will leave with more confidence in your reading, writing, researching, and speaking abilities as these are all elements of freshman composition. Many times, these elements are presented in excellent textbooks written by top scholars. While the collaborators of this particular textbook respect and value those textbooks available from publishers, we have been concerned about students who do not have the resources to purchase textbooks. Therefore, we decided to put together this Open Educational Resource (OER) explicitly for use in freshman composition courses at Texas A&M University. It is important to note that the focus for this text is on thesis-driven argumentation as that is the focus of the first year writing course at Texas A&M University at the time of development. However, other first year writing courses at different colleges and universities include a variety of types of writing such as personal essays, informative articles, and/or creative writing pieces. The collaborators for this project acknowledge each program is unique; therefore, the adaptability of an OER textbook for first year writing allows for academic freedom across campuses.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2022
Oral Communication for Non-Native Speakers of English by Kochem, Timothy (Author), Ghosh, Monica G. (Author), Compton, Lily (Author), Cotos, Elena (Author), Welcome to Oral Communication for Non-native Speakers of English! This digital book is meant to serve an instructional tool for both learners and teachers in the field of pronunciation. Topics covered include vowel and consonant sounds, word stress, thought groups, prominence, and intonation. The book has been constructed to be either a self-paced instructional tool for learners or a classroom material for speaking or pronunciation courses.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2020
Reading and Writing Successfully in College: A Guide for Students by Lynne, Patricia (Author) This textbook provides students with guidelines for understanding writing tasks as intellectual work using Bloom’s Taxonomy and for treating the writing process as a set of variable activities that move along a trajectory from idea or assignment to a finished product. The book also includes chapters on strengthening reading strategies and on finding, evaluating, and using sources effectively.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2023
Who Teaches Writing by Branson, Tyler (Author) Who Teaches Writing is an open teaching and learning resource being used in English Composition classes at Oklahoma State University. It was authored by contributors from Oklahoma State University and also includes invited chapters from faculty and staff at institutions both inside and outside of Oklahoma. Contributors include faculty from various departments, contingent faculty and staff, and graduate instructors. One purpose of the resource is to provide short, relatively jargon-free chapters geared toward undergraduate students taking First-Year Composition. Support for this project was provided in part by OpenOKState and Oklahoma State University Libraries.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2021