Skip to Main Content
When you're looking for articles, Library Databases are your "go-to" place. These subscriptions provide access to millions of newspaper, magazine and scholarly journal articles, as well as other formats including eBooks, audio files and videos.
To find articles in our library databases, type your keywords into the Library Search box below. Another option is to search within library databases directly. Searching within a specific database can produce more relevant results based on the targeted scope of that database.
- Google Scholar - Provides an easy way for you to locate and access scholarly articles available through the Temple University Library databases. Follow these steps to link your Google Scholar settings.
Unique Databases to Try
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
General One File is a source for news, magazines, and periodical articles across a wide range of general topics and academic disciplines.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides reports written by journalists, footnoted and fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports.
Ad Fontes Media Campus Pro This link opens in a new window
Ad Fontes Campus Pro includes access to both an interactive and static Media Bias Chart that rates various media sources on political bias and reliability.
Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary) This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary) aggregates several eBook collections covering many academic disciplines.
National Geographic Virtual Library (1888-2015) This link opens in a new window
National Geographic Virtual Library offers full reproductions of the magazine from 1888 to 2015.
Encyclopedia of American Studies This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of American Studies provides information on history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World This link opens in a new window
Ethnologue is a database of information about the world’s 7000 living languages. For each language, it lists names and dialects, population estimates, location, details by country, vitality level, usage, and second language information.
Global Plants This link opens in a new window
Global Plants offers images of hand-selected specimens and partner-contributed reference works and primary sources, including collectors’ correspondence, diaries, illustrations, and photographs.
English Language Tools
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Oxford English Dictionary (OED), published by the Oxford University Press, is a descriptive dictionary of the English language. Included is the complete text of the 2nd. ed. of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form.
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) This link opens in a new window
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) provides varieties of English that are found everywhere in the United States, including words, pronunciations, and phrases that vary from one region to another. Includes quizzes to match up regional phrases with definitions.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides access to quantitative facts by market sector, encompassing agriculture, finance, and politics, and others. Statista is a statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
World Factbook This link opens in a new window
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Wolfram Alpha This link opens in a new window
Wolfram|Alpha offers dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms and methods.
Gale Presents: Peterson's Test and Career Prep This link opens in a new window
Peterson's Test and Career Prep (formerly Testing & Education Reference Center) provides materials for practicing a wide variety of tests ranging from High School through Graduate study, such as AP, SAT, ACT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT and MAT etc. In addition to the availability of testing materials this database provides resources for researching and building a career. It includes a resume builder as well as a map to build a career path through the virtual career module.
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda) provides unlimited access to an online library of high-quality instructional videos on the latest software tools and skills. Courtesy of Temple University Computer Services.
Search ALL Temple University library databases for articles:
HINT - On the results screen, limit your search results to "peer reviewed" (scholarly), by resource type (i.e. magazine, newspaper, or journal article), or by date of publication.
Temple University Japan Campus Library 1-14-29 Taishido, Setagaya-ku, Tokyo, Japan 154-0004
Tel: 03-5441-9867 Fax: 03-5441-9811 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: https://www.tuj.ac.jp/library