Skip to Main Content
TUJ Dissertations & Publications
50 Things to Think about When Writing a Thesis by
Moving away from a traditional 'one size fits all' approach, this thesis guide encourages readers to find their own path to submission, demonstrating that the process of writing is as unique as the individual candidate. This book shows thesis writers how to embrace the individual nature of writing, bringing their own unique identities and skillsets to their thesis. Each idea is presented as one that has multiple solutions, depending on who the readers are and what they want to achieve. The book guides the reader on identifying their own ways of working, their own particular strengths, as well as their unique voice and how to use these as tools to navigate the process of writing and surviving the thesis. It also provides practical guidance on elements such as the literature review and methodology, considerations around language and how to deal with life after submission. Offering a unique perspective on the process and experience of completing a thesis, this book will be an essential companion for students completing a thesis at Honors, Master's or PhD level.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2023-07-01
A Concise Guide to Writing a Thesis or Dissertation by
A Concise Guide to Writing a Thesis or Dissertation provides clear, succinct, and intentional guidelines about organizing and writing a thesis or dissertation. Part I provides an overview for writing a thesis or dissertation. It describes the big picture of planning and formatting a research study, from identifying a topic to focusing on writing quality. Part II describes the framework and substance of a research study. It models the pattern generally found in a formal, five-chapter research study. Each chapter of a thesis or dissertation has a specific purpose, and this book focuses on each in an easy-to-follow structure. Chapter One reviews the headings and contents expected in the introduction of a study. Chapter Two provides advice for writing a literature review. Chapter Three discusses what to include when describing the methodology. These first three chapters form the proposal section of a study. Two additional chapters present results (Chapter Four) and provide discussion and conclusions (Chapter Five). Appendices offer resources for instructors and students, including a rubric for evaluating writing, exercises to strengthen skills in APA format, sample purpose statements, a research planning organizer, and a guide for scholarly writing. The book is designed overall to be a practical guide and resource for students for their thesis or dissertation process. Note to readers: Due to publishing limitations, some of the titles within the book do not accurately conform with APA format. For precise APA format, please see the APA manual (2010, pp. 62-63), or refer to Table 1.1, (p. 8) or Table D.1 (p. 107) in this book.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2019-04-11
Refining Your Academic Writing by
The 'Insider Guides to Success in Academia' offers support and practical advice to doctoral students and early-career researchers. Covering the topics that really matter, but which often get overlooked, this indispensable series provides practical and realistic guidance to address many of the needs and challenges of trying to operate, and remain, in academia. These neat pocket guides fill specific and significant gaps in current literature. Each book offers insider perspectives on the often implicit rules of the game - the things you need to know but usually aren't told by institutional postgraduate support, researcher development units, or supervisors - and will address a practical topic that is key to career progression. They are essential reading for doctoral students, early-career researchers, supervisors, mentors, or anyone looking to launch or maintain their career in academia. Revision is often taken as a largely instrumental process which happens after the real work of writing is done - it is an unavoidable and tedious process. Refining by contrast is imaginative work, it requires craft, connoisseurship, and courage, and builds knowledge about academic writing purposes and practices. Refining Your Academic Writing will help you complete your writing project and provides a reading, revising and rewriting repertoire that you can adapt and add to. It offers ways to think about revision and a basic tool kit which will help you to identify what needs your attention and why. This accessible book draws on and extends some of the most heavily used posts on Thomson's popular academic writing blog Patter, as well as tried and tested writing workshops. Exercises and templates are grounded in research and theory on doctoral experience and academic writing. The wider context of academic writing is clearly explained, and the terms used to describe text refinement build understanding while challenging taken-for-granted assumptions about revision, editing and proof reading. Written with a light touch, this book is ideal reading for doctoral and early career researchers, and provides strategies needed to support the writing revision process.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2022-12-30
View more handbooks on writing academic dissertations.
Temple University Japan Campus Library 1-14-29 Taishido, Setagaya-ku, Tokyo, Japan 154-0004
Tel: 03-5441-9867 Fax: 03-5441-9811 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Web: https://www.tuj.ac.jp/library