Research Guides: Graduate College of Education: Media

Chat with a Librarian

Contact Us

Video Databases

These library video databases have thousands of (ad free!) films, documentaries and media clips. Once in a video database, type your keywords into the search box to see what's available.

Teaching Channel This link opens in a new window
Note: Due to budget constraints and low usage, Teaching Channel will not be available after 6/30/2024.
The Teaching Channel is a database of over 1,600 teaching videos that demonstrate different classroom techniques and plans. Downloadable resources and materials accompany many of the videos.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a source of videos and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Films on Demand combines : Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware.
Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods Online provides content across the social and behavioral sciences. Covers quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods and includes the entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series.

View all Temple University Video Databases

Print Media - Magazines & Newspapers

We receive daily copies of these magazines and newspapers, which can be read in the library:

The New York Times
The Japan Times
The Asahi Shimbun
The Nihon Keizai Shimbun (The Nikkei)

The library also has access to thousands of Online Newspaper Subscriptions.

The library also has magazine and newspaper content available via the library databases. These include:

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides information on various social issues, including pro and con articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Gale NewsVault This link opens in a new window
Gale NewsVault allows users to cross-search all Gale newspaper archives using a single interface.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
General One File is a source for news, magazines, and periodical articles across a wide range of general topics and academic disciplines.
US Newsstream (formerly ProQuest Newsstand) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Newsstream features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites dating back to 1980. Some titles include: Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.

Chronicle of Higher Ed. & New York Times.com

All Temple employees and students have free online access to The Chronicle of Higher Education (https://www.chronicle.com/) and New York Times (https://www.nytimes.com).

To access these for free, you must first follow these instructions, found in the links below, to gain access: