Research Guides: Political Philosophy: Articles

Library Databases

When you're looking for credible information, Library Databases are your "go-to" resource. These subscriptions provide access to millions of newspaper, magazine and scholarly journal articles, as well as other formats including eBooks, audio files and videos.

To find Articles in all of our library databases, type your keywords into the Library Search box below. Another option is to search within library databases directly. Searching within a specific database can produce more relevant results based on the targeted scope of that database.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.
CQ Press Library (formerly CQ Political Reference Suite) This link opens in a new window
CQ Press Library (formerly CQ Political Reference Suite) is a reference title resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context contains pages and full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals. Focuses on issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides information on various social issues, including pro and con articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Social Science Premium Collection contains international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Religion & Philosophy Collection provides full text journals covering topics such as: world religions, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.

Search ALL Temple University library databases for articles:

HINT - On the results screen, limit your search results to "peer reviewed" (scholarly), by resource type (i.e. magazine, newspaper, or journal article), or by date of publication.

What Are Databases?

Peer Review

Research articles published in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed, or refereed. Peer-review is a rigorous process where articles are evaluated by a panel of experts in the field (peers in the author's field).

Google Scholar

Search Temple’s databases with Google Scholar, instead of from the library web site, to find freely available scholarly articles provided by the Temple University Library and the rest of the internet. Just follow these Google Scholar Set-up Instructions, then enter your key words in the Google Scholar search box.

Look for articles that say Temple U next to them. These are the articles that only you (as a Temple student) can access for free.
Other sources that say PDF, or similar, on the right side of the article are full text articles that anyone can access for free.
Some sources will not show anything on the right of the article. Those are typically not available in full text for free.
Do not pay to access these! if you really think you need to article, contact the library to see if they can find a free version for you.