Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. It also includes access to EndNote Online.
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Note: Follow these instructions to link Google Scholar with Temple's resources.
Google Scholar provides search for scholarly literature. It covers disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Social Science Premium Collection contains international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.
Research databases uniformly structure the information about a source - they index, describe, and add subject terms to articles records -- all of which makes it easier to find relevant material. Look for Subject Terms or Descriptors or MeSH terms in the database records, which you can click on or search for to narrow your search to articles primarily on your topic.
Search engines like Google Scholar and AI tools don't have subject terms or descriptors added to records, but they do search full-text, so an unusual word might work to focus a search. On the other hand, the full-text search brings up many less relevant sources.
