Oxford-Paravia Italian Dictionary by Oxford Oxford Dictionaries
The third edition of the Oxford-Paravia Italian Dictionary is the most complete and up-to-date Italian dictionary available, now with a colour design and layout. With over 300,000 words and phrases, and 450,000 translations, and packed full of grammatical and usage information for bothlanguages, it is the most authoritative Italian bilingual dictionary available. Developed through consultation with academic advisors, its editors have used the latest technology to search millions of words of web-based text identifying the most recent additions to Italian and English, and changesin usage.Hundreds of new words and updated translations have been added in both Italian and English, covering subjects from politics and industry to techology and ecology. Additionally, the 7,000 most frequently used words in Italian are highlighted to help you learn essential vocabulary.New and updated cultural notes provide lively and interesting information on life in the Italian-speaking and English-speaking worlds.This edition also includes an extensive guide to correspondence, which includes sample letters, emails, CVs, and help with text messaging. There are notes throughout the A-Z text to warn of sensitive vocabulary, to alert you to key differences between Italian and English, and to show how words suchas with and before are used in different contexts.This edition retains such popular features as quick-reference verb tables, and lists of vocabulary on topics such as seasons, rivers, sports, and more. It is an essential reference tool for all serious students of Italian at university level and beyond, and for those who need an authoritative andcomprehensive guide to Italian.
ISBN: 9780199580422
Publication Date: 2010-06-25
Oxford-Paravia Italian Dictionary by
The third edition of the Oxford-Paravia Italian Dictionary is the most complete and up-to-date Italian dictionary available, now with a colour design and layout. With over 300,000 words and phrases, and 450,000 translations, and packed full of grammatical and usage information for bothlanguages, it is the most authoritative Italian bilingual dictionary available. Developed through consultation with academic advisors, its editors have used the latest technology to search millions of words of web-based text identifying the most recent additions to Italian and English, and changesin usage.Hundreds of new words and updated translations have been added in both Italian and English, covering subjects from politics and industry to techology and ecology. Additionally, the 7,000 most frequently used words in Italian are highlighted to help you learn essential vocabulary.New and updated cultural notes provide lively and interesting information on life in the Italian-speaking and English-speaking worlds.This edition also includes an extensive guide to correspondence, which includes sample letters, emails, CVs, and help with text messaging. There are notes throughout the A-Z text to warn of sensitive vocabulary, to alert you to key differences between Italian and English, and to show how words suchas with and before are used in different contexts.This edition retains such popular features as quick-reference verb tables, and lists of vocabulary on topics such as seasons, rivers, sports, and more. It is an essential reference tool for all serious students of Italian at university level and beyond, and for those who need an authoritative andcomprehensive guide to Italian.
