Research Guides: Honors: Introduction to Psychology PSY 1901-001 : Historical Context

Historical Context

Gale in Context: U.S. History
Click on "Browse" to get to decades. US History offers extensive coverage of historical events, including articles from periodicals and newspapers; hundreds of thousands of topic and event overviews; biographies; and rich multimedia, including images, videos, audio, and weblinks.
Gale in Context: World History
World History offers centuries worth of rare primary sources, reliable reference and multimedia content, and tools to research a variety of topics ranging from Ancient Mesopotamia to the Holocaust to modern Human Rights Movements.
America: History & Life with Full Text
America: History & Life with Full Text contains bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada It includes historical, social sciences and humanities journals.

State of Psychology

Identify the sub-field for your study, This can help you a lot to narrow down what was getting attention.
Some studies are closely identified with author names. Some famous studies get a label. If you can figure out these, use them as keywords to search. For example, I might use "From Jerusalem to Jericho" for my study, but this also brings up the parable. Just the author pair Darley and Batson works well, but this may not work for very prolific authors with more than one famous study, which would need another keyword to pin the study down.
For some of the studies, entire books are written about the main topics, if not the study itself. For others, articles on the sub-field may be the most you can get.
Annual Reviews Online can be useful for putting the study in the context of research trends

Library Search
Library Search is your gateway to discover books, journal articles, and much more at Temple University Libraries. Additional information can be found in our Library Search FAQ's.
Annual Reviews Online
Click on "Home" to get to the search bar. Annual Reviews Online provides research literature in various disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
APA PsycInfo
APA PsycInfo contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides search for scholarly literature. It covers disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Oxford Reference Online
Browse or search single titles, specific subject areas, or the entire collection
Sage Reference
Sage References is a collection of authoritative encyclopedias and handbooks in the social and behavioral sciences.

Temple University

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu