Skip to main content

Emergent Media Production / Cybermedia Workshop: MSP 4741 / 8741

Research help for the cross-listed course, MSP 4741 / 8741: Emergent Media Production / Cybermedia Workshop

Why Use Books?

rows of bookshelves

Question: What value lies in books?  Why, for example, would a researcher choose a book over a journal?

Answer: Because of their length, books tend to provide more comprehensive treatment of a topic. Books can also be useful for providing footnotes to additional materials. 

Find Books at Temple

a book

Need to find a book? Use the following source to find books at Temple.

Find Books at Other Libraries

WorldCAT logo

Palci EZ Borrow logo

Can't find a book you need at Temple? Try using the following sources and request books to be sent to Temple.

Book Locations

Books that you find for your topic may be located in a variety of places.  Below is a list of some possible locations.

  • Charles Library BookBot -- This is where most of the books are kept. Many of these books are loanable. Request these books via Library Search. Pick them up at the One Stop Assistance desk in Charles Library, or have them delivered to the Temple campus library of your choice. For additional help see the FAQ, How do I request, pick-up, and borrow items from the BookBot?
     
  • Charles Library Juvenile (4th floor)  or Charles Library Juvenile (Hirsch Collection, 4th floor)  -- These are where children's and young adult literature books are kept. Find these books on the 4th floor of Charles Library, north side, near the Graduate Scholars and Faculty Study room. Many of these books are loanable.
     
  • Charles Library Reserves -- This is where books placed on course reserves are kept. Find these books at the One Stop Assistance desk in Charles Library. Many of these books are loanable and will have a 3-hour loan period.
     
  • Charles Library Stacks (4th floor)  -- Find these books on the 4th floor of Charles Library. Many of these books are loanable.
     
  • Ambler Campus Library Stacks -- This is a branch library located on the Ambler campus. Request these books via Library Search and have them brought to Charles Library or to the Temple campus library of your choice in a few days.  Many of these books are loanable.
     
  • Blockson Collection Reading Room -- This is a special collection devoted to African and African American history.  Find these materials on the 1st floor of Sullivan Hall.  These materials are not loanable and must be used in-house only.​
     
  • Ginsburg Health Science Library -- This is the library located on the Health Science campus. Use the "Request" button to request these books and have them brought to Charles Library or to the Temple campus library of your choice in a few days.  Many of these books are loanable.
     
  • Online -- This is the designation for ebooks. Ebooks can be accessed 24x7, on or off-campus and do not need to be checked out.
     
  • Remote Storage -- This is a storage facility for less used or duplicate books.  Request these books via Library Search. Pick them up at the One Stop Assistance Desk in Charles Library.  Many of these books are loanable.
     
  • Special Collections Research Center Reading Room -- This is where special collections, like Rare Books, Manuscripts, Paskow Science Fiction Collection, Urban Archives, Contemporary Culture Collection, etc., are kept.  Find these materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) Reading Room on the 1st floor of Charles Library.  These materials are not loanable and must be used in-house only.

​Not sure where to go?  Maps of Charles Library are available to help you find your call number area.