Research Guides: Psychology: Journals

Find Journals in Temple Library Search

ILLiad
If the journal does not appear in this search or the available date range does not match the date you need, request the item via ILLiad (interlibrary loan)

Find Full Text

Many databases will have the full-text. It usually comes in the form of a link to a PDF file or HTML text.

If you don't see the full-text in the database (for example, in Google Scholar), look for the "Find Full-Text" icon:

This will search the Temple site for journal access

Google Scholar for Articles

Google Scholar
is a good way to track down an article when you know the title. This link goes through the Temple proxy, so ways to get the article should appear on the right of the citation if it is available.

Journal Collections

APA PsycArticles
APA PsycArticles is a full-text ejournal collection from the American Psychological Association, Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber Publishers.
Sage Journals Online
provides access to journals in the social sciences, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences from Sage Publications.
PubMed Central

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Nature Publishing Group
Nature Publishing Group (NPG), provides access to Nature journals in a variety of fields including biotechnology, cancer, medicine, genetics, immunology, materials science, microbiology, molecular cell biology, neuroscience, and pharmacology. From this site you can search all the Nature journals we subscribe to, or you can search within subjects or individual journal titles.

Where the Journals Are

Almost all of the journals for psychology for the last 30 years and older are online. Use Library Search - Journals when you know the name of the journal to find out which database provides access to it, or if the library does not have access.

Some much older journals and some current journals are not immediately accessible online. If you are looking for a particular article in one of these, put in a request to have the article scanned and sent to you through ILLiad.

If you know the journal comes from the American Psychological Association, you can use the database APA PsycArticles -- although indexing is better in the database APA PsycInfo (which will also have full-text of APA journals.)

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu