Research Guides: Industry Research: Background Information

Business Background Sources

Business Reference Sources

Books are a good source of detailed information and analysis about a topic. Reference sources, such as encyclopedias, directories, handbooks, and more can be found through the Library website. Use the Library Search to locate specialized books by topic, name or keyword.

TU Library Search
Use Library Search to discover books, journal articles, newspapers, archival material, images, library research guides, and other Temple resources.

Business Expert Press This link opens in a new window
Business Expert Press's Digital Libraries contains textbooks and reference materials that cover areas of business, including supply and operations management, international business, social media, finance, accounting, public relations, and marketing strategy.
Business Plan Handbooks [via Gale Virtual Reference Library] This link opens in a new window
Business Plan Handbooks [via Gale Virtual Reference Library] contains business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. It also includes sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail of how to approach, structure and compose business plans.
Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Directory Library provides full-text, searchable access to Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations and Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the US. Users can also sort and export data from the directories.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library [GVRL]) is a database of encyclopedias and reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if the database is accessed from different libraries.

Searching for Books Beyond Temple

E-ZBorrow
Search here for books from PA libraries, requests are received in 3-5 business days.
Google Books
Search the full-text of books. You won't be able to view more than a couple pages of most of the books, but if you can use the search capabilities here to identify relevant books that you can then look-up in the library.
WorldCat
Search here for books across libraries worldwide. You can request books you find that Temple doesn't have through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan.
ILLIAD
Request books that are not available in the Temple Libraries or from E-ZBorrow. Requests can take many days or weeks to arrive, plan ahead.

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu