Program Planning: SBS 3496/3596

Searching for literature involves strategy and some experimentation. This guide describes some of the specific databases containing content on health related publications along with other related topics. With the wealth of resources at Temple a researcher can use a variety of interfaces to search the same databases. Do not hesitate to contact a librarian if you would like some assistance.

• Have an understanding of what’s in the database you’re searching.
• Think about strategies and terms you will use.
• Always use the library website to connect to subscriptions and full text options.

• Manage and sort results-filtering choices
• Info organized consistently
• "Controlled vocabulary"-terms associated with a concept are given a heading to bring variations together)
• Transparency of content (what’s indexed, what’s not?)
• Databases often provide the full-text of articles via Temple’s institutional subscriptions

Databases work in conjunction with citation management software to organize for bibliographies (RefWorks@TU, Mendeley, EndNote)

• Identify database based on your topic of interest
• Choose relevant terms, including synonyms, to use
• Select subject terms or search by keyword
• Look at results for
  • Currency (is that important)
  • Type of article-is it research, editorial, comment, etc
  • Filters/Limits: What else is important to this topic?
    • Age group?
    • Author, specific journal, etc.
    • What options do you have in this database to help you narrow in on your interest?