Contains facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works from the Middle Ages and Renaissance through the Restoration and Victorian era.
This project from Oxford University has been concentrating on the high-resolution digitization of a series of medieval manuscripts which were selected as major treasures from their respective libraries, to create wider availability for originals which may otherwise be too fragile for handling.
Includes works in Latin, Greek, and most of the vernacular languages of Europe that are the primary sources for the study of the literature, art, history, music, philosophy, and theology of the periods.
Contains over 100,000 works published in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America from 1473-1700. Includes novels, pamphlets, broadsides, calendars, sermons, almanacs, and much more.
Contains dramatic works published in the British Isles from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth century. Includes Elizabethan and Jacobean plays, as well as Medieval morality plays, mystery cycles, and nineteenth-century closet dramas.
Contains images of medieval manuscripts available for browsing, in date order. They are taken from Oxford University's Bodleian Library's filmstrips and slide collection, and include illuminations and text-pages.
Contains manuscript pages and associated illuminations dating from the 9th through the 16th centuries give vivid testimony to the creative impulses of the often nameless craftsmen who continually discovered new ways of animating the contents of hand-produced books. From the New York Public Library.
Contains full color images and fully searchable transcriptions of the following major family letter collections from 15th century England: Paston Family Papers; Cely Family Papers; Plumpton Correspondence; Stonor Correspondence; Armburgh Family Papers
Contains collections of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages, including journeys of famous travelers from Prester John and Marco Polo to Sir John Mandeville and John Capgrave.
Contains the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.