Use Library Search, Temple University Libraries' online catalog, to find which books, journal titles and other materials are available in the TU library collections.
Use the Subject search in Library Search to locate books about Visual Anthropology. For a broad search, use VISUAL ANTHROPOLOGY as your subject. For a narrower search, use MOTION PICTURES IN ETHNOLOGY, PHOTOGRAPHY IN ETHNOLOGY, or VIDEO RECORDING IN ETHNOLOGY as your subject. Another related term to use is VISUAL SOCIOLOGY.
To obtain books not available from TU Libraries, use E-ZBorrow, which is a database containing the catalog records for books from many different libraries which can be borrowed. For books not available from E-ZBorrow, use Illiad (ILL)
Web Archive in Visual Anthropology. An archive of resources for people interested in the anthropology of visual communication, featuring out-of-print and unpublished materials useful for teaching and research. Begin anthropological research by reviewing a research guide in order to become familiar with reference books and information sources in Anthropology.
All books below are available online. Click the book title to access the online copy. The library has many other books about Visual Anthropology and related topics. Use Library Search to locate them.
For information about the book, use your cursor to hover over "info" icon
Cine-Ethnography by
One of the most influential figures in documentary and ethnographic filmmaking, Jean Rouch has made more than one hundred films in West Africa and France. In such acclaimed works as Jaguar, The Lion Hunters, and Cocorico, Monsieur Poulet, Rouch has explored racism, colonialism, African modernity, religious ritual, and music. He pioneered numerous film techniques and technologies, and in the process inspired generations of filmmakers, from New Wave directors, who emulated his cinema verite style, to today's documentarians. Cine-Ethnography is a long-overdue English-language resource that collects Rouch's key writings, interviews, and other materials that distill his thinking on filmmaking, ethnography, and his own career. Editor Steven Feld opens with a concise overview of Rouch's career, highlighting the themes found throughout his work. In the four essays that follow, Rouch discusses the ethnographic film as a genre, the history of African cinema, his experiences of filmmaking among the Songhay,and the intertwined histories of French colonialism, anthropology, and cinema. And in four interviews, Rouch thoughtfully reflects on each of his films, as well as his artistic, intellectual, and political concerns. Cine-Ethnography also contains an annotated transcript of Chronicle of a Summer--one of Rouch's most important works--along with commentary by the filmmakers, and concludes with a complete, annotated filmography and a bibliography. The most thorough resource on Rouch available in any language, Cine-Ethnography makes clear this remarkable and still vital filmmaker's major role in the history of documentary cinema.
The Corporeal Image : Film, Ethnography, and the Senses by
In this book, David MacDougall, one of the leading ethnographic filmmakers and film scholars of his generation, builds upon the ideas from his widely praised Transcultural Cinema and argues for a new conception of how visual images create human knowledge in a world in which the value of seeing has often been eclipsed by words. In ten chapters, MacDougall explores the relations between photographic images and the human body-the body of the viewer and the body behind the camera as well as the body as seen in ethnography, cinema, and photography. In a landmark piece, he discusses the need for a new field of social aesthetics, further elaborated in his reflections on filming at an elite boys' school in northern India. The theme of the school is taken up as well in his discussion of fiction and nonfiction films of childhood. The book's final section presents a radical view of the history of visual anthropology as a maverick anthropological practice that was always at odds with the anthropology of words. In place of the conventional wisdom, he proposes a new set of principles for visual anthropology. These are essays in the classical sense--speculative, judicious, lucidly written, and mercifully jargon-free. The Corporeal Image presents the latest ideas from one of our foremost thinkers on the role of vision and visual representation in contemporary social thought.
Principles of Visual Anthropology by
This edition contains 27 articles, written by scholars and filmmakers who are generally acknowledged as the international authorities in the field, and a new preface by the editor. The book covers ethnographic filming and its relations to the cinema and television; applications of filming to anthropological research, the uses of still photography, archives, and videotape; subdisciplinary applications in ethnography, archeology, bio-anthropology, museology and ethnohistory; and overcoming the funding problems of film production.
Doing Visual Ethnography by
Following the success of the First Edition, this fully revised and updated Second Edition of Doing Visual Ethnography explores the use and potential of photography, video, and hypermedia in ethnographic and social research. It offers a reflexive approach to theoretical, methodological, practical, and ethical issues of using these media now that they are increasingly being incorporated into field research. Author Sarah Pink adopts the viewpoint that visual research methods should be rooted in a critical understanding of local and academic visual cultures, the visual media, and technologies being used and the ethical issues they raise.
The Ethnographer's Eye by
Grimshaw's exploration of the role of vision within modern anthropology engages with current debates about ocularcentism, investigating the relationship between vision and knowledge in ethnographic enquiry. Using John Berger's notion of 'ways of seeing', the author argues that vision operates differently as a technique and theory of knowledge within the discipline. In the first part of the book she examines contrasting visions at work in the so-called classical British school, reassessing the legacy of Rivers, Malinowski and Radcliffe-Brown through the lens of early modern art and cinema. In the second part of the book, the changing relationship between vision and knowledge is explored through the anthropology of Jean Rouch, David and Judith MacDougall, and Melissa Llewelyn-Davies. Vision is foregrounded in the work of these contemporary ethnographers, focusing more general questions about technique and epistemology whether image-based media are used or not in ethnographic enquiry.
Fields of Vision by
Filmed images dominate our time, from the movies and TV that entertain us to the news and documentary that inform us and shape our cultural vocabulary. Crossing disciplinary boundaries, Fields of Vision is a path-breaking collection that inquires into the power (and limits) of film and photography to make sense of ourselves and others. As critics, social scientists, filmmakers, and literary scholars, the contributors converge on the issues of representation and the construction of visual meaning across cultures. From the dismembered bodies of horror film to the exotic bodies of ethnographic film and the gorgeous bodies of romantic cinema, Fields of Vision moves through eras, genres, and societies. Always asking how images work to produce meaning, the essays address the way the "real" on film creates fantasy, news, as well as "science," and considers this problematic process as cultural boundaries are crossed. One essay discusses the effects of Hollywood's high-capital, world-wide commercial hegemony on local and non-Western cinemas, while another explores the response of indigenous people in central Australia to the forces of mass media and video. Other essays uncover the work of the unconscious in cinema, the shaping of "female spectatorship" by the "women's film" genre of the 1920s, and the effects of the personal and subjective in documentary films and the photographs of war reportage. In illuminating dark, elided, or wilfully neglected areas of representation, these essays uncover new fields of vision.
Advances in Visual Methodology by
Sarah Pink draws together in a single volume a set of key writings on advances and explorations that sit at the innovative edge of theory and practice in contemporary visual research. Advances in Visual Methodology presents a critical engagement with interdisciplinary practice in the field of visual research and representation, examining the development of visual methodology as a field of interdisciplinary and post-disciplinary practice that spans scholarly and applied concerns. The book explores how new practice-based, theoretical and methodological engagements are developing and emerging in research practice; the impact new approaches are having on the types of knowledge visual research produces and critiques; the ways visual research intersect with new media; and the implications of this for social and cultural research, scholarship and intervention.
Most dissertations owned by Temple University Libraries are those done at Temple. Pre-2008 dissertations are listed in The Library Search by author, title, and subject.
Beginning in 2008 Temple dissertations are available online in Temple University Electronic Theses & Dissertations
Most Temple Dissertations done within the last 20 years and earlier are available online through the database Proquest Dissertations & Theses. (Restricted to Temple staff and students)
To locate dissertations from other institutions, as well as Temple, use the database Proquest Dissertations & Theses (Restricted Use - Temple Staff Only).
Non-Temple dissertations may be purchased from ProQuest or borrowed through Illiad (ILL) .
Many universities, including Temple, are making their dissertations freely available for downlaod over the Internet. A list of these universities can be found at OpenDoar, which is a searchable directory of academic open access repositories. To see a list of universities which make their dissertations available online, click here: OPENDOAR. Click the search button to renew the list.
