Skip to Main Content

University Libraries

American Ethnic Groups / Ethnicity

a Guide to Resources

Reference

International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by N. J. Smelser (Editor-In-Chief); P. B. Baltes (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0080430767
Publication Date: 2001-11-22

A list of recommended reference books.

General

American Immigration by James Ciment; John Radzilowski
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0765682125
Publication Date: 2013-11-30
Ancestry in America : a comparative city-by-city guide to over 200 ethnic backgrounds -- with rankings by David Garoogian (General Editor)
Call Number: E184.A1 A644x 2003
ISBN: 1592370292
Publication Date: 2012-03-01

Encyclopedia of American Studies This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of American Studies provides information on history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present.

Encyclopedia of Diasporas by Carol R. Ember (Editor); Melvin Ember (Editor); Ian A. Skoggard (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0306483211
Publication Date: 2004-11-30
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Gale Editors (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0787675504
Publication Date: 2014-04-11

African Americans

Encyclopedia of African American Society by Gerald D. Jaynes (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0761927646
Publication Date: 2005-02-01

Asian Americans

Asian American Society An Encyclopedia by Mary Yu Danico (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1452281904
Publication Date: 2014-09-05
Asian Databook by David Garoogian (General Editor)
Call Number: E184 .A75 2005
ISBN: 1592370446
Publication Date: 2004-09-04
This is the first-ever resource that compiles statistics and rankings on the US Asian population. This kind of comparative data can not be found elsewhere, in print or on the web, in a format that's as easy-to-use or more concise.

Hispanic-Americans

The Hispanic Databook by David Garoogian (General Editor)
Call Number: E184.S75 H567x 2004
ISBN: 159237008X
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement by Margo Gutiérrez; Matt S. Meier
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0313304254
Publication Date: 2000-05-30
Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Suzanne Oboler
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 019518842X
Publication Date: 2005

Native Americans

Encyclopedia of Native Tribes of North America by Michael G. Johnson; Richard Hook (Illustrator)
Call Number: E76.2 .J646x 2014
ISBN: 1770854614
Publication Date: 2014-10-17

Subject Specialist

Caitlin Shanley

she / her

Subjects: American Studies, Gen Ed Courses, Gender, Sexuality & Women's Studies, LGBT Studies

Immigration Statistics

Citizenship and Immigration Statistics: US
Department of Homeland Security
Provides a variety of current statistics about immigration and immigrants.

U.S. Immigration Facts - New Figures and Stats
Frequently requested statistics on immigrants and immigration in the United States