American Ethnic Groups / Ethnicity

Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.

African American Biographical Database(AABD) is a resource of African Americans biographical information, photographs and illustrations. AABD includes profiles and full-text sketches both biographical and narratives chronicling the lives of Black Americans. It draws its content from Chadwyck-Healey's Black Biographical Dictionaries and Black Biography from 1790-1950.

The African American Experience (AAE) provides full-text reference works from Greenwood Publishing. (AAE) includes interviews with former slaves from the WPA Slave Narratives Project. Documents, audio clips, photographs, from Negro University Press titles are also included.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 contains African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American.

Note: This is an upgrade from America: History & Life.
America: History & Life with Full Text contains bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada It includes historical, social sciences and humanities journals. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes citations of books and media reviews from a selection of journals in US and Canadian history and related fields, as well as citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas.

America's Historical Newspapers provides reproductions of pages from historical American newspapers. It contains Early American Newspapers, Series 1-5. Series 1, 1690-1876: with images and full-text , access to historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, Series 2, 1758-1900. Series 3, 1829-1922 includes Civil War, Reconstruction and Progressive Era. Series 4, 1756-1922 Series 5, 1777-1922

American National Biography
Concurrent user limit: 5
American National Biography contains biographies, illustrations and hyperlinked cross-references.

Concurrent user limit: 5
Anthropology Plus [via EbscoHost] contains Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature into a single database. Anthropological Index covers scholarly literature. Anthropological Literature provides articles and essays.

Black Thought and Culture is an electronic collection of non-fiction writings by black leaders in North America. It includes interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.

Blackwell Compass is a collection of articles from various disciplines. It includes Geography, History, Literature, Philosophy, and Religion.

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index covers documents published between 1790 and 1919. It contains the following collections: Nineteenth Century Short Title, Catalogue, Nineteenth Century microfiche project, American Periodicals Series (Full-Text),-British Periodicals Series, Periodicals Index, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals , House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (Full-Text), Archives USA , and Palmer's Index to the Times.

Concurrent user limit: 2
Chicano Database contains records from journals and other resources including newspapers, books and book chapters. The database provides coverage dating back to the 1960s and selective indexing dating back to the early 1900s. Subject coverage includes art, bilingual education, education, labor, literature, mental health, law, poetry, politics and sociology.

Early Encounters in North America contains documents on relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides perspectives from all of the protagonists.

Concurrent user limit: 12
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Handbook of Latin American is a searchable, annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin American social sciences and humanities. It includes book chapters, conference papers, articles and conference proceedings published worldwide in the field of Latin American studies.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index provides bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since 1970. The coverage includes political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.

Historical Statistics of the United States contains reference data covering U.S history. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context.