Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Box Repository: Resources & Services

Repository of different types of boxes and content. Go into your guide and "Add New Box" and select "Reuse Existing Box" to link to boxes here. Boxes on your page will be updated automatically when box updates occur.

Useful Links

test

TU Libraries News

Temple University Libraries News Temple Libraries News
Loading ...

Blockson Collection @ Temple

Charles L. Blockson Afro-American Collection

The Charles L. Blockson Afro-American Collection is one of the nation's leading research facilities for the study of the history and culture of people of African descent.

Located in Sullivan Hall, this collection has materials on the global black experience in all formats: books, manuscripts, pamphlets, journals, broadsides, posters, photographs, and rare ephemera.

Learning and Research Services (LRS)

The Learning & Research Services (LRS) Department offers many services and resources to support the mission of Temple University Libraries - "connecting people and ideas to enhance learning and research." RIS engages with departments, schools, and colleges to support learning through collection development, instructional services and collaboration.

The Subject Librarians provide in-depth research services tailored to the unique characteristics of the students, staff, faculty and researchers they serve. User's research needs are met through three principle forums: drop-in hours at the Paley Library Information Desk, consultations with librarians in the Think Tank, and virtually through Ask A Librarian services.  

In addition to consultations and collection development, library instruction is provided through multiple venues, such as classroom lessons, group workshops, and the publication of digital learning content. Contact a subject specialist for more information about how RIS can support faculty research, knowledge creation, information literacy, and ultimately, student success.

Accessing Temple Libraries Collections from a Distance

At the present time, Temple Libraries does not ship print books or journals to distance students.  Luckily there are many great online resources available in the Temple Libraries collections, many of which are featured in this guide.  However, if you wish to acquire photocopies of book chapters or journal articles from within our collection, there are some options listed below. 

1.  We do not presently ship books that you find in our library catalog.
2.  When searching the library catalog, if you find something is listed as in the "library depository", you can make depository requests for book chapters and articles, but not books.
3.  You can use our Illiad service for book chapters and articles whether we own them or not.  Books may not be requested because we do not ship them.  For materials we own at TUL you will need to enter "distance learner" in the notes field otherwise the request will be rejected.