Research Guides: Religion in Philadelphia: REL 0876 / HIST 0876: Themes

Themes

Nativism

Religious Toleration

Immigrant Religion

Religious Pluralism

Race and Religion

German-Americans

Gender and Religion

Mid-Atlantic History

Great Awakening

Sacred Space

Leni Lenape

Politics and Religion

Mysticism, Magic, Astrology

Institutions

Folklore/Legend

Social Gospel

Utopian Communities

Abolitionism

Religious Publishing

Sunday Schools

Yellow Fever Epidemic

Bible Riots

Penn's Charter

1964 Riots

Civil Religion

Sports and Religion

PA Charter, 1682

Charter of Liberties, 1701

Germantown Mennonite Anti-Slavery Argument

Declaration of Independence

Constitutional Convention, 1787

Enlightenment/Deism

Search for themes in these sources

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Note: This is an upgrade from America: History & Life.
America: History & Life with Full Text contains bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada It includes historical, social sciences and humanities journals. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes citations of books and media reviews from a selection of journals in US and Canadian history and related fields, as well as citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to newly added titles is guaranteed through May 2027
ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains many US and international newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries, including the New York Times, Philadelphia Inquirer, and Washington Post.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular periodicals covering all religions and time periods.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
To search for themes, pay close attention to the academic (peer-reviewed) journal articles.