World Society in Literature & Film: Spain & Latin America: LAS/SPAN 0868/0968

Research resources for the GenEd course, "Spain/Latin America in Literature & Film," a.k.a. "World Society in Literature & Film" for Spain or Latin America

Find Film Reviews in Newspapers

To search directly in the newspaper databases, input the name of your film in quotation marks, i.e. "The Magnificent Yankee" and review. You will likely need to limit your search results by date to the year of the film's release.

New York Times Full-Text (1980 - present) [via ProQuest U.S. Newsstream] This link opens in a new window
Full-text from 1980-Present
US Newsstream (formerly ProQuest Newsstand) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Newsstream features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites dating back to 1980. Some titles include: Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.
New York Times Full-Text / Full-Image (1851-2020) [via ProQuest Historical Newspapers] This link opens in a new window
Full-text from 1851-2014
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical access to major American and international newspapers

Find Film Reviews: Journals and Magazines

Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly and popular articles on many films

Find Film Reviews -- metasites

These freely available websites bring together reviews published in a variety of established and not-so-established online sources. Choose your reviews carefully, and try to learn as much as possible about the source that published them.

MetaCritic
MetaCritic is a website that indexes reviews of music albums, games, movies, TV shows, DVDs, and formerly, books. An excerpt of each review is provided along with a link to the source.
Movie Review Query Engine (MRQE)
MRQE is a website that indexes movie reviews published online. Find reviews for new and recent movies in theaters, DVD and Blu-ray releases, and film classics.

Find Films

Keyword Searching:

Use Library Search to search for Films in both DVD and streaming format. You can search by title, director, topic, etc. Select the Books/Media column and then limit your search to Resource Type > Video.