Research Guides: Youth Cultures: EDUC 0817 / 0917: Find Scholarly Sources

Find Scholarly Sources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Note: Follow these instructions to link Google Scholar with Temple's resources.
Google Scholar provides search for scholarly literature. It covers disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Youth and Popular Culture Magazine Archive‎ This link opens in a new window
Access guaranteed through May 2027
Youth and Popular Culture Magazine Archive showcases unique periodicals from 1940-present, highlighting topics and trends of youth culture such as fashion, rock and roll, sports, sexuality, dating, as well as youth portrayal in the media.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text contains articles from magazine for film, television and cinema reviews. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 8
SPORT Discus is a full text international sports database which covers the fields of exercise, medicine, biomechanics, coaching and sports medicine.

Music and Performing Arts Online
Music, Film, Theater, and Dance related journals.

 Depending on the culture you choose there are many other possible resources you could search. For example: if music is a defining or major aspect of your culture you may want to search in some of our Music databases.

As you're viewing database results, remember to carefully evaluate whether a source is appropriate and relevant to your topic. A couple of questions you might ask yourself:
What is the journal or publication? Is it in one of the academic disciplines related to the course such as psychology, sociology, cultural studies, etc.?
	Example: If your topic is skateboarding, you will likely fare best with a source like the Journal of Sport & Social Issues rather than a more medically-based journal such as The Physician and sportsmedicine.

How does the content of the source relate back to course themes? Is it, for example, related to identity development?
	Remember to read the abstract, and make sure the entirety of the source is relevant to your topic. 
If you're having trouble locating relevant sources, try adding search terms like "identity", "identity developement" or "social" to your search.

Can't find the full-text of articles?

If the article you have found in a database doesn't have the full-text right there, click on the button available from most databases to locate the entire article online.