Databases

What is PubMed Central?

PubMed Central is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature comprising journals that deposit material in PMC on a routine basis and generally make all their published articles available here.

Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. MEDLINE (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the largest component of PubMed and consists primarily of journal citations; articles indexed with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and curated with funding, genetic, chemical and other metadata.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

MEDLINE: (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database that contains references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy subheadings and explosion capabilities. See below for the various platforms:

Medline [via EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Medline [via FirstSearch] This link opens in a new window
Medline [via Ovid] This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 10
Simply Analytics is a web-based mapping application that permits users to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing variables. Maps can be exported as high-resolution images; data can be selected, sorted, and compared to build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet.