Research Guides: Africa in the 20th Century: AAAS 1261: Books

Chat

Searching for Books

Library Search: Books This link opens in a new window
Find books in the Temple University collection using Library Search.

E-ZBorrow
Search here for books from PA libraries, requests are received in 3-5 business days.
Google Books
Search the full-text of books. You won't be able to view more than a couple pages of most of the books, but if you can use the search capabilities here to identify relevant books that you can then look-up in the library.
WorldCat
Search here for books across libraries worldwide. You can request books you find that Temple doesn't have through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan.
ILLIAD
Request books that are not available in the Temple Libraries or from E-ZBorrow. Requests can take many days or weeks to arrive, plan ahead.

Books for Africa in the 20th Century

Click on titles to see full bibliographic record, including call #, in Library Search.

Class Struggle and Resistance in Africa by Leo Zeilig; Azwell Banda (Foreword by)
Call Number: HN773 .C437x 2002
ISBN: 1873797346
Publication Date: 2002
"This book retells the story of mass struggle and working-class resistance in Africa. The first chapter by Leo Zeilig and David Seddon, looks at the experience of Marxism in Africa since independence, the role of the class struggle in shaping political change on the continent and how Stalinism has distorted Marxism. In the second chapter, David Seddon gives an historical overview of the African working class and the development of capitalism on the continent, from one of the continent's first strikes in 1874, in Sierra Leone, to the struggles against the first governments of national independence."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
UNESCO General History of Africa by Ali A. Mazrui; UNESCO Staff
Call Number: DT20.G45x v.8
ISBN: 0520039203
Publication Date: 1994
The result of years of work by scholars from all over the world,The UNESCO General History of Africareflects how the different peoples of Africa view their civilizations and shows the historical relationships between the various parts of the continent. Historical connections with other continents demonstrate Africa's contribution to the development of human civilization. Each volume is lavishly illustrated and contains a comprehensive bibliography.
African Leaders by Tatiana Shohov (Editor, Compiled by); S. N. Colamery (Editor)
Call Number: DT31 .C535x 1999
ISBN: 1560727217
Publication Date: 1999
Unknown to much of the world, many of the nations of Africa are undergoing revolutions as the 20th century mercifully ends. These revolutions may have far-reaching consequences not only for Africa but for the rest of the world. This book gathers together citations, including abstracts, from the journal literature, books, government reports and edited collections.
The Pan-African Movement by Imanuel Geiss
Call Number: Print & Blockson DT31.G5513
ISBN: 0841901619
Publication Date: 1974

Book Locations

Books that you find for your topic may be located in a variety of places. Below is a list of possible locations.

CHARLES STACKS

This is where most of the books are kept (EITHER in the BookBot or the 4th floor stacks. Use the online Library Search to Request books or go to the fourth floor to find it using the call number.

BLOCKSON COLLECTION

This is a special collection devoted to African and African American history. Find these materials on the 1st floor of Sullivan Hall. These materials are in-house use only.

URBAN ARCHIVES

This is a special collection devoted to the history of Philadelphia. Find these materials on the 1st floor of Charles. These materials are in-house use only.

RARE BOOK COLLECTION

This is a special collection devoted to specialized editions and manuscripts. Find these materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) Reading Room on the 1st floor of Charles. These materials are in-house use only.

CONTEMPORARY CULTURE COLLECTION

This is a special collection devoted to alternative perspectives on contemporary culture. Find these materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) Reading Room on the 1st floor of Charles. These materials are in-house use only.

SCIENCE FICTION COLLECTION

This is a special collection devoted to science fiction and fantasy literature. Find these materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) Reading Room on the 1st floor of Charles. These materials are in-house use only.

LIBRARY DEPOSITORY

This is the library's storage facility for older, more fragile books. Use the "Request" button to request these books and have them brought to Charles in 24 hours. Check out these books as usual.

Not sure where to go? Visit the One Stop desk for assistance on the Library's 1st floor.