Owing to license restrictions, alumni may only use the Temple University Library databases in the libraries, and not off-site.
Below, we offer suggestions for free resources to use to locate articles, guidelines, and more.
Research Databases and Resources
PubMedPubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.
The PubMed database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality)The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.
medRxivmedRxiv is an archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences.
ClinicalTrials.GovA registry and results database of approximately 170,000 clinical studies involving human participants conducted around the world. Studies can be searched by topic or location.
Open Access Journals and Publishers
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Biomed CentralA pioneer of open access publishing, BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC Series.
SAGE Open MedicineSAGE Open Medicine is a peer-reviewed, open access journal, which focusses on all aspects of medicine and welcomes original research and review articles from across the health sciences in the broadest sense.
MedicineMedicine® is a fully open access journal, providing authors with a distinctive new service offering continuous publication of original research across a broad spectrum of medical scientific disciplines and sub-specialties.
